Three Sun Devils Earn NCBWA All-America Honors

June 10, 2009

STARKVILLE, Miss. - Several candidates for the prestigious Dick Howser Trophy, including Arizona State junior pitcher Mike Leake, highlight the 14th Annual Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-America Team announced Wednesday. ASU's Jason Kipnis joins Leake on the first team, while junior catcher Carlos Ramirez earned third team accolades.

The 2009 Pro-Line Athletic/NCBWA All-America Team includes eight now-consensus selections, and such Howser Trophy semifinalists as NCAA World Series-bound 1B Dustin Ackley of North Carolina and Arizona State pitcher Mike Leake, along with fellow luminaries pitchers Kyle Bellamy of Miami (Fla.), A.J. Morris of Kansas State, and Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, and Johnny Bench Award finalist catcher J.T. Wise of Oklahoma.

Among the 57 standouts on the three units, there are student-athletes from 19 different conferences and 17 conference championships teams. The three All-America squads are also made up of 18 conference Player of the Year winners.

Some of the record-setting and nation-leading honorees are NCAA Division I total home run co-leader (28) OF Kent Matthes of Alabama, Pacific-10 Conference Pitcher of the Year (in both 2008 and '09) and national wins leader (16-1) Leake, versatile utility player Bryce Brentz (who tops the nation with a .465 batting average and 28 homers) of Middle Tennessee, and Strasburg (national strikeouts' pacesetter with 195 and the first player taken in Tuesday's Major League Baseball draft by the Washington Nationals). Most of the 2009 NCBWA Division I District Players of the Year made one of the three squads.

The three finalists, all among this group, for the 23rd Annual Dick Howser Trophy, as voted upon by NCBWA members and awarded since 1987, will be announced just on Saturday, June 13, in Omaha at 9:30 a.m. (CDT) at the Omaha Press Club at 16th and Dodge Streets (22nd Floor). The Dick Howser Trophy recipient will be named during the inaugural College Baseball Awards Show on July 2 at the United Spirit Center in Lubbock, Texas.

Previous Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA All-America teams from 1996-2008 have featured the likes of OF J.D. Drew of Florida State, P-DH Jason Jennings of Baylor, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of Southern California, SS Khalil Greene of Clemson, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern and P David Price of Vanderbilt (all current Major Leaguers), among others.

Pro-Line Athletic is in its fifth year as a sponsor of the NCBWA. It produces and distributes plaques for National Hitter and Pitchers of the Week during the regular season and extends its award production to include plaques for each member of the Pro-Line/NCBWA All-America team.

During the Summer of 2006 Pro-Line launched into the custom game clothing business with all products being manufactured in its facility in Fort Worth, Texas. As a part of this transition, the company rebranded from Pro-Line Cap Co. to become Pro-Line Athletic - a full line athletic apparel company offering American Made headwear, workout gear and uniforms.

2009 NCBWA All-America Teams

NAME Year School
Dustin Ackley Jr. North Carolina
Matt Alexander Jr. Air Force
Eric Arnett Jr. Indiana
Kyle Bellamy Jr. Miami (Fla.)
Bryce Bentz So. Middle Tennesse State
Jake Hale  Sr.  Ohio State 
Jason Kipnis  Jr.  Arizona State 
Mike Leake  Jr.  Arizona State 
Kent Matthes  Sr.  Alabama 
Derek McCallum  Jr.  Minnesota 
Deck McGuire  So.  Georgia Tech 
Tommy Mendonca  Jr.  Fresno State 
A.J. Morris  Jr.  Kansas State 
Ben Orloff  Sr.  UC Irvine 
Addison Reed  So.  San Diego State 
Stephen Strasburg  Jr.  San Diego State 
Tyler Townsend  Jr.  Florida International 
J.T. Wise  Sr.  Oklahoma 


NAME Year School
Daniel Bibona Jr. UC Irvine
Louis Coleman Sr. Louisiana State
Devon Dageford Jr. Louisiana Tech
Kyle Gibson Jr. Missouri
Sean Gilmartin Fr. Florida State
Chris Henderson Jr. George Mason
Danny Hultzen Fr. Virginia
Scott Krieger Sr. George Mason
Bryan Marquez Sr. New Mexico State
Matty Ott So. Louisiana State
Jarrett Parker So. Virginia
Eric Pettis Jr. UC Irvine
Rich Poythress Jr. Georgia
Anthony Rendon Fr. Rice
Daniel Renken So. Cal State Fullerton
Austin Wood Sr. Texas
Ryan Wood Sr. East Carolina
Phil Wunderlich So. Louisville


NAME Year School
David Anderson Sr. Coastal Carolina
Buddy Baumann Jr. Missouri State
Daniel Calhoun Jr. Murray State
Christian Colon So. Cal State Fullerton
Bo Davis Sr. Southern Mississippi
Ryan Duke So. Oklahoma
Lance Durham Jr. Cincinnati
Josh Fellhauer Jr. Cal State Fullerton
Chris Franklin Jr. SE Louisiana
Ryan Goins Jr. Dallas Baptist
Jedd Gyorko So. West Virginia
Cody Hawn So. Tennessee
Kane Holbrooks Sr. Texas State
Mike McGee So. Florida State
Tyler Mizenko Fr. Winthrop
Carlos Ramirez Jr. Arizona State
Anthony Ranaudo So. Louisiana State
Brandon Sizemore Sr. College of Charleston
Tony Thompson  So.  Kansas 
Tim Wheeler  Jr.  Sacramento State 
Alex Wimmers So. Ohio State


Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network