2009 Pac-10 Rowing Year in Review

June 15, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- WASHINGTON celebrated not only a national rowing championship but also a stirring, come-from-behind victory wherein the men's varsity eight rallied from a nine-seat gap over the second half of the 2,000-meter race to edge its arch rival, top-ranked CALIFORNIA, by one second at the finish. The Huskies swept all eight-man events -- varsity, second varsity and freshmen -- and also took gold in the open fours at the 107th Intercollegiate Rowing Association championship regatta on Lake Natoma near Sacramento. No school had swept all the eights since Washington did it in 1997.

Meanwhile, STANFORD became only the fifth-different team champion in 13 years of the NCAA Women's Rowing Division I Championship, capturing its first national title and ending Brown's two-year reign in May at Cooper River Park in Cherry Hill, N.J. Led by a first-place finish in the I Eight, the Cardinal finished with 88 points to top the team standings in the field of 16 schools. California, who placed third in the I Eight after falling shy of Stanford's pace by just 2.81 seconds, won a tie-breaker with Yale for the team silver courtesy of a higher finish in the I Eight Grand Final.

California upset top-seeded Washington in the men's varsity eight grand final of the Pac-10 Rowing Championships, propelling the Golden Bears to the men's team title and beginning what minutes later would result in an institutional sweep. Cal's advantage was never more than two seats, and Stanford surged halfway through the 2,000 meters into second to finish ahead of the Huskies, as well. No. 1-seed Stanford dominated in the women's grand final, moving into an early lead and setting a course-record 6:18.6. California and OREGON STATE rounded out the marquee event's podium. California's women won two grand finals on the afternoon - the varsity four and second varsity eight - and claimed the team title for the second-straight year. It was the Golden Bear women's fifth Conference title in the last six years.

Individual honorees included: Alex Osborne, STAN (Men's Athlete of the Year); Erika Roddy, STAN (Women's Athlete of the Year); Craig Amerkhanian, STAN (Men's Coach of the Year); Emily Ford, OSU (Women's Coach of the Year); James Long-Lerno, CAL (Men's Newcomer of the Year); and Kristina Löfman, CAL (Women's Newcomer of the Year).


First Team
Liene Bertasjus - University of Southern California
Adrienne Fritsch - Stanford University
Ame Hicks - Oregon State University
Lou Kinder - University of California, Berkeley
Jenna Levy, coxswain - Stanford University
Elle Logan - Stanford University
Adrienne Martelli - University of Washington
Iva Obradovic - University of California, Berkeley
Erika Roddy - Stanford University

Second Team
Elena Humphreys - University of California, Berkeley
Jenny Kossowsky - Oregon State University
Grace Luczak - Stanford University
Kayleigh Mack - University of Washington
Katy Milton - University of California, Berkeley
Lauren Nowinski - University of California, Berkeley
Anna Specjalska - University of Southern California

~ Pac-10 ~
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder