Washington's Lawrie Named Finalist For 2009 Honda-Broderick Cup

June 15, 2009

New York -- The Collegiate Women's Sports Awards today announced the five finalists for the prestigious Honda-Broderick Cup, its annual top honor designating the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. This year's finalists are, in alphabetical order: Jennifer Barringer, University of Colorado (track and field); Nicole Fawcett, Penn State University (volleyball); Courtney Kupets, University of Georgia (gymnastics); Danielle Lawrie, University of Washington (softball); and Renee Montgomery, University of Connecticut (basketball).

Lawrie, a native of Langley, British Columbia, struck out 12 batters and hit two home runs in this year's deciding Super Regional win over Georgia Tech and hit a grand slam in the semifinal of the Women's College World Series to send her Huskies to theChampionship Series. She led the Huskies to their first-ever NCAA softball championship.

Lawrie led the nation this year in strikeouts (521) and wins (42), was third in shutouts (21) and sixth in ERA (0.97). The ace was named the 2009 USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year and Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year. With her 42-8 record, the 2009 season was her best ever. She set UW single-season school records in six categories this year: wins (42), strikeouts (521), innings pitched (352.2), shutouts (21), starts (50) and complete games (46), while breaking career records for strikeouts (1,365), shutouts (41) and complete games (108). She also set single-season school records in strikeouts in each of her prior two seasons at UW: 387 as a freshman in 2006 and 457 in 2007. Lawrie competed for the Canadian National Team at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, where they came in fourth. She is as an education and communications major.

The finalists were chosen from previously announced Honda Sports Award winners in 12 different NCAA-sanctioned sports, by a vote from among more than 1,000 NCAA-member institutions. The winner will be named at a special press conference on June 22nd at Columbia University in New York, where she will be presented with her award by softball legend Lisa Fernandez, winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup in 1993.

California senior Dana Vollmer was the 2009 Honda Sports Award winner for swimming & diving, becoming the third athlete from Cal to win the individual honor. The senior, who won a pair of individual NCAA titles this season, led Cal to its first NCAA Women's Swimming & Diving championship in school history in 2009. Internationally, Vollmer was a gold medalist at the 2004 Olympics in Athens as a member of the US 4 x 200-meter free relay. She is an anthropology major with a 3.26 GPA.

In addition to the annual Honda-Broderick Cup, the Collegiate Women's Sports Awards Program also presents its annual 'Honda Inspiration Award' to a deserving collegiate female athlete. This year's recipient is Nicole Hester, a star basketball player at Drexel University who was forced to withdraw from classes and miss an entire basketball season due to Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but courageously came back and this year led her team to a school-record 24 wins, including a 16-2 record in conference play and their first-ever berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Last year's Honda-Broderick Cup winner was basketball superstar and previous two-time Honda Sports Award winner (2007, 2008) Candace Parker of the University of Tennessee. Other past winners of the Honda-Broderick Cup include some of the most talented and accomplished collegiate athletes in recent history: Jackie Joyner-Kersee (track & field, 1984); Mia Hamm (soccer, 1994), Cheryl Miller (basketball, 1983), Ann Meyers (1978, basketball), Tracy Caulkins (1982, 1984, swimming & diving), Chamique Holdsclaw (basketball, 1998) and Lisa Fernandez (softball, 1993).

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder