Gray-Lawson named to Team USA roster for 2009 World University Games

June 22, 2009


USA Basketball today announced the official 12-member team for the 2009 USA Women's World University Games Team with California senior Alexis Gray-Lawson included on the roster. The USA Women will compete for a gold medal at the 2009 World University Games, July 1-11 in Belgrade, Serbia.

Gray-Lawson was named one of the original 15 finalists after the initial tryout camp held in Colorado Springs in mid-May. The team members were selected by the USA Basketball Women's Junior National Team Committee, chaired by Sue Donohoe, the NCAA Vice President for Division I Women's Basketball, following four days of training for 15 finalists June 18-21.

The U.S. squad will continue training camp at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo., through June 25, when the team departs for Belgrade, Serbia.The World University Games is organized by the International University Sports Federation and held every other year. The women's basketball competition will take place July 1-11. Eligible athletes for the USA team must be currently enrolled in a college or university and have remaining NCAA athletic eligibility.

'I'm just excited for the chance to go to Serbia', said Gray-Lawson. 'I have never been, and I'm just ready to go.'

Gray-Lawson is the second Bear in the last five years and the third overall to be part of Team USA. Devanei Hampton played on the 2006 US Under-20 National Team. Trisha Stafford was a member of the 1990 US Junior National Team. Cal recruit Layshia Clarendon is a finalist for the Under-19 team, The finalists for the USA under-19 team will return to Colorado Springs on July 9 to begin training for the 2009 FIBA U19 World Championship, which will be held July 23-Aug. 2 in Bangkok, Thailand. The eventual 12-member team will be finalized prior to the team's departure for Thailand.

The roster for the Team USA Women's World University Games includes: Tina Charles (Connecticut / Jamaica, N.Y.); Alexis Gray-Lawson (California / Oakland, Calif.); Tiffany Hayes (Connecticut / Lakeland, Fla.); Ashley Houts (Georgia / Trenton, Ga.); Jantel Lavender (Ohio State / Cleveland, Ohio); Danielle McCray (Kansas / Olathe, Kan.); Jacinta Monroe (Florida State / Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.); Maya Moore (Connecticut / Lawrenceville, Ga.); Kayla Pedersen (Stanford / Fountain Hills, Ariz.); Ta'Shia Phillips (Xavier / Indianapolis, Ind.); Jeanette Pohlen (Stanford / Brea, Calif.); and Danielle Robinson (Oklahoma / San Jose, Calif.).

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder