Nine Huskies Selected To Canadian U23 Team

June 30, 2009

VICTORIA, B.C. - Nine Huskies were selected to the Canadian U23 rowing team and will row for Canada at the World Rowing Under 23 Championships to be held July 23-26 in Racice, Czech Republic.

The U23 World Championships are a showcase of up-and-coming athletes who are above a junior level age, but are still in need of further development to rank among top senior elite rowers, according to

Recent graduate Stephen Connolly was named to the U23 Men's 8+, while the U23 straight four is made up entirely of Huskies; Will Crothers, Anthony Jacob, Max Lang and Conlin McCabe comprise the boat. Connolly, Crothers, Jacob and McCabe were each in the Canadian U23 eight that captured silver at last year's U23 World Championships. Lang won gold in the 2006 U23 World Championships and spent the 2007-08 school year training with the Canadian Olympic Team.

On the women's side, Rosie DeBoef, Kim Kennedy and Kira O'Sullivan were each named to the U23 Women's 8+, while Erika Shaw was selected to row in the spare straight pair. Kennedy earned silver in the straight four and bronze in the quad at the 2006 U23 World Championships. Shaw placed fourth in the eight at last year's U23 World Championships in Brandenburg, Germany. DeBoef and O'Sullivan will be competing at the U23 World Championships for the first time.

Ariana Tanimoto, Adrienne Martelli, Jennifer Park, Hanne Trafnik, Blaise Didier, Hans Struzyna, Nenad Bulicic, Tom Lehmann and Mathis Jessen await selection for the U.S., German and Serbian U23 teams.

2009 Canadian Under 23 National Rowing Team

U23 Men's 8+
Richard Anderson
Spencer Crowley
Stephen Connolly
Will Dean
Matt Evans
Josh Morris
Blake Parsons
Geoff Roth
Ronan Sabo-Walsh

U23 Men's 4-
Will Crothers
Anthony Jacob
Max Lang
Conlin McCabe

U23 Men's 1x
Michael Braithwaite

U23 Lightweight Men's 4-
Rares Crisan
Travis King
Ryan Meyers
Jeff Overington

U23 Women's 8+
Rosie DeBoef
Ashton Brown
Lauren Hutchins
Kim Kennedy
Kristen Kit (coxswain)
Natalie Mastacci
Kira O'Sullivan
Caitlin Trumble
Lauren Wilkinson

U23 Women's Spare 2-
Sarah Black
Erika Shaw

U23 Lightweight Women's 4x
Ricki Baxter
Emma Bedard
Rebecca Gregory
Kathryn Twyman

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder