Track And Field Has 23 Named To Academic All-American Team

July 14, 2009

New Orleans - Stanford track and field was honored when 14 women and nine men were named Academic All-American by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association on Tuesday. The Cardinal were among the top teams in the nation for number of student-athletes honored.

The criteria to be named Academic All-America by the USTFCCA was to have achieved a 3.25 GPA as well as having earned at least national provisional marks during the indoor season or regional marks during the outdoor season.

Alicia Follmar, Jaynie Goodbody and Madeleine O'Meara were honored for the second time for the Stanford women. Each also earned the honor in 2007. Follmar and Goodbody were NCAA qualifiers in 2008 for Stanford, while O'Meara was a regional qualifier.

11 others earned their first honor including Claire Cormier Thielke who recently earned a post bachelor's degree and Kate Niehaus who carries a GPA over 4.0. In addition sophomores Madeline Duhon, Arantxa King and Stephanie Marcy and junior Idara Otu were honored.

Finally, five Stanford freshmen earned a spot on the All-Academic team. The honorees were Emilie Amaro, Laurynne Chetelat, Georgia Griffin, Maria Lattanzi and Jordan Merback.

Garrett Heath led the Stanford men as he earned his fourth All-America honor for track and field. The fifth-year senior has earned the mark in each of the past three seasons as well. Heath finished his decorated career as a nine-time All-American after his most recent runner-up finish at the NCAA Outdoor Championships in the 1,500 meters.

Joining Heath as repeat winners were Daniel Schaerer and Chris Mocko who were both also honored in 2007. Schaerer earned his first All-America honor this season in the discus, while Mocko made his first national meet in track and field this year when he qualified in the 3,000-meter steeplechase.

Earning their first honors were juniors Durell Coleman and Justin Marpole-Bird and sophomore Elliott Heath. In addition, freshmen Chris Derrick, Benjamin Johnson and Amaechi Morton were honored.

Women's Honorees: Emilie Amaro, Laurynne Chetelat, Claire Cormier Thielke, Madeline Duhon, Alicia Follmar, Jaynie Goodbody, Georgia Griffin, Arantxa King, Maria Lattanzi, Stephanie Marcy, Jordan Merback, Kate Niehaus, Madeleine O'Meara, Idara Otu

Men's Honorees: Durell Coleman, Chris Derrick, Elliott Heath, Garrett Heath, Benjamin Johnson, Justin Marpole-Bird, Chris Mocko, Amaechi Morton, Daniel Schaerer

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder