Mayes to be Enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame

July 16, 2009

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - After being inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in December, former Washington State University running back Rueben Mayes will be permanently enshrined at the 2009 College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Dinner and Show at the Century Center, Saturday (July 18) at 5:30 p.m. (PT).

The enshrinement show will be televised live by the CBS College Sports Network.

Joining Mayes in enshrinement will be quarterback Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1987-88), running back Billy Cannon (LSU, 1957-59), offensive tackle Jim Dombrowski (Virginia, 1982-85), linebacker Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern 1994-96), linebacker Wilber Marshall (Florida, 1980-83), offensive guard Randall McDaniel (Arizona State, 1984-87), quarterback Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1984-87), tight end Jay Novacek (Wyoming, 1982-84), split end Dave Parks (Texas Tech, 1961-63), nose guard Ron Simmons (Florida State, 1977-80), running back Thurman Thomas (Oklahoma State, 1984-87) and quarterback Arnold Tucker (Army, 1944-46).

Two coaches will also be enshrined: John Cooper, who amassed a career record of 192-84-6 at Tulsa, Arizona State and Ohio State; and Lou Holtz, who boasts a career record of 249-132-7 while coaching at William & Mary, North Carolina State, Arkansas, Minnesota, Notre Dame and South Carolina.

Mayes is the first Cougar player to be enshrined since tackle Glen 'Turk' Edwards (1929-31) in 1975, and the third player overall. Center Mel Hein (1928-30) was the first Cougar to be inducted in 1954.

He also joins head coaches Orin 'Babe' Hollingbery (1979) and Forest 'Evy' Evashevski (2000), giving WSU five individuals in the Hall of Fame. Hollingbery coached WSU from 1926-42, while Evashevski coached the Cougars from 1950-51.

Mayes led the Pacific-10 Conference in rushing as both a junior and a senior, garnering league player of the year honors following each season. He completed his career as the Cougars' all-time leading rusher and ranked sixth on the conference career rushing list with 3,519 yards. He was the first Cougar running back to post back-to-back 1,000-yard seasons and held WSU's single-season rushing mark of 1,637 yards for more than 20 years until Jerome Harrison eclipsed that mark in 2005.

As a junior Mayes set WSU, Pac-10 and NCAA Division I records with 357 rushing yards against Oregon. He also had 216 yards against Stanford the previous week, setting WSU, Pac-10 and NCAA records for rushing yards in consecutive games (573 yards).

Drafted by New Orleans in the third round of the 1986 draft, Mayes was named the NFL Rookie of the Year after rushing for 1,353 yards in his first year with the Saints. He played with New Orleans through the 1991 season, earning selections to the Pro Bowl in 1986 and 1987. After playing five years with the Saints, Mayes played two seasons with the Seattle Seahawks before retiring. His professional totals included 866 carries for 3,484 yards and 23 touchdowns in seven seasons.

Mayes was inducted into the WSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 1993.
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder