Four Awarded Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships

July 21, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Four former Oregon State student-athletes - Ryan Callahan (men's soccer), Jane Ivey (women's rowing), D'Anna Piro (gymnastics) and Alex Williams (men's golf) - were among 39 recipients of Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships named by Commissioner Larry Scott for 2008-09 on Tuesday.

These $3,000 awards go to student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 GPA who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-10 has awarded over $1 million for postgraduate study.

Callahan (Lafayette, Calif.) was a four-year starter in the midfield for the Beavers. He was a three-time Pac-10 All-Academic team member including earning first team honors following the 2008 season. Callahan finished the season third on the team with six points (2 goals and 2 assists).

Ivey (Nelson, New Zealand) rowed on OSU's Varsity 8+ in 2009 helping her crew to a third place finish at the Pac-10 Championships in May, the first Pac-10 medal for the V8+ since 2000, which led to OSU's first NCAA Championships appearance since 2000.

Piro (Lake Oswego, Ore.) performed as an uneven bars specialist for the Beavers' gymnastics team that finished 11th at the NCAA Championships in April. Piro, who had performed in an alternate role for most of the season, moved into the competitive lineup for the final meet of her career when a teammate was unable to compete due to illness. Piro scored a season-high, 9.80, in the biggest meet of her career at the championship.

Williams (Vancouver, Wash.) was a three-time Pac-10 All-Academic first team member. He played in 11 out of the team's 12 tournaments in 2008-09 and finished with a 74.50 scoring average. Williams was also named the Pac-10 Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®.

The 39 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship awardees become candidates for the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarship, which was won last year by former OSU gymnast Yuki Lamb. The 'Healthy Minds' scholarship provides $10,000 each to one male and one female student-athlete for postgraduate study. The winners are selected by a Pac-10 committee which includes institutional administrators and a student-athlete member of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. The scholarship winners will be announced in August. The Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' scholarships program is in its third year, being initiated in 2007.

To be selected for a Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:
• Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.
• Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.
• Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete's athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.
• Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.
• Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network