Four Bruins Win Pac-10 Post-Graduate Scholarships

July 21, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Commissioner Larry Scott has announced the 39 outstanding Pac-10 student-athletes who have been named recipients of Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships for 2008-09 and four Bruins have been honored - Drew and Kyle Shackleton (m. cross country/track & field), Jade Machado (w. volleyball) and Elizabeth Lumpkin (w. tennis). These $3,000 awards go to student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 GPA who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-10 has awarded over $1 million for postgraduate study.

The 39 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship awardees become candidates for the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarship. The 'Healthy Minds' scholarship provides $10,000 each to one male and one female student-athlete for postgraduate study. The winners are selected by a Pac-10 committee which includes institutional administrators and a student-athlete member of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. The scholarship winners will be announced in August. The Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' scholarship program is in it third year, being initiated in 2007.

To be selected for a Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

• Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.

• Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.

• Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete's athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.

• Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.• Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.


  • Arizona
    Craig Sheedy - men's diving
    Shelly Splittberger - women's cross country
    Danielle Steinberg - women's tennis
    Xiong Xeuhan - men's track & field

  • Arizona State
    Thomas Bellama - men's tennis
    Sybil Dosty - women's basketball
    Anthony Reyes - football
    Sarah Stevens - women's track & field

  • California
    Kyle Brady - men's gymnastics
    Aditya (George) Gandranata - men's golf
    Rachel Moffitt - field hockey
    Brook Turner - women's cross country/track & field

  • Oregon
    Darcie Gardner - women's soccer
    Zoe Nelson - women's track and field
    Nick Reed - football
    Scott Wall - men's track and field

  • Oregon State
    Ryan Callahan - men's soccer
    Jane Ivey - women's rowing
    D'Anna Piro - women's gymnastics
    Alex Williams - men's golf

  • Stanford
    Nate Cass - men's swimming
    Alicia Follmar - women's cross country/track & field
    Nicole Ourada - women's gymnastics
    Brandon Williams - men's volleyball

  • UCLA
    Elizabeth Lumpkin - women's tennis
    Jade Machado - women's volleyball
    Drew Shackleton - men's cross country/track & field
    Kyle Shackleton - men's cross country/track & field

  • USC
    Desmond Hamilton - men's track & field
    Katy Houston - women's swimming
    Kazu Miyahara - men's swimming
    Stacey Strong - women's soccer

  • Washington
    Robert Lukevich - football
    Amanda Miller - women's cross country/track & field
    Rachel Powers - women's rowing
    Scott Spansail - men's swimming

  • Washington State
    Elyse Peterson - women's swimming
    Drew Polley - men's cross country/track & field
    Sara Trané - women's cross country/track & field
  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    12:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network