Alexis Gray-Lawson named to 2009-10 Wade Watch List

July 30, 2009


Golden Bear senior guard Alexis Gray-Lawson has been named to the 2009-10 preseason 'Wade Watch' list list for The State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year. The 25-member list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

Gray-Lawson is coming of a gold-medal performance at the World University Games. As a member of the United States championship team, Gray-Lawson averaged 7.9 points per game with 4.3 rebound per contest. Gray-Lawson also had nine assists and ten steals in the tournament played in Belgrade, Serbia.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 33rd year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the 'Heisman of Women's Basketball,' is organized by the WBCA, in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2010 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in San Antonio, Texas, April 2-6.

2009-2010 State Farm Wade Trophy Preseason List

The preseason candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy are listed in alphabetical order: Jayne Appel (Stanford), Jessica Breland (North Carolina), Tina Charles (Connecticut), Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee), Allyssa DeHaan (Michigan State), Alexis Gray-Lawson (Cal), Tiffany Hayes (Connecticut), Allison Hightower (LSU), Ashley Houts (Georgia), Jantel Lavender (Ohio State), Danielle McCray (Kansas), Jacinta Monroe (Florida State), Maya Moore (Connecticut), Jene Morris (San Diego State), Deirdre Naughton (DePaul), Kayla Pederson (Stanford), Ta'Shia Phillips (Xavier), Jeanette Pohlen (Stanford), Samantha Prahalis (Ohio State), Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State), Danielle Robinson (Oklahoma), Jenna Smith (Illinois), Carolyn Swords (Boston College), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Monica Wright (Virginia)

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder