Stanford's Appel, Pedersen And Pohlen Named To WBCA Preseason Wade Watch List

July 30, 2009

  • WBCA Preseason 'Wade Watch' List release

    STANFORD, Calif. - Three Stanford women's basketball student-athletes earned early praise ahead of the 2009-10 season as senior Jayne Appel and juniors Kayla Pedersen and Jeanette Pohlen were named to the WBCA's preseason 'Wade Watch' list for The State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year, the WBCA announced Thursday.

    'I am excited to announce the 25 student-athletes who make up the 2009-2010 State Farm Wade Trophy `Watch' list,' said Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director at DePaul University. 'The committee has done a superb job yet again at selecting the best and brightest in the women's game. This group represents 20 institutions and 10 conferences and if it is any indicator of what's to come this season, I think we all have a lot to look forward to.'

    The Stanford trio of Appel, Pedersen and Pohlen played a major role in helping the Cardinal reach the Final Four in 2009 for the second straight year, as well as the eighth time in program history. All three earned places on the various All-Pac-10 teams as they led Stanford to a 33-5 record and its ninth consecutive Pac-10 regular season title and its sixth Pac-10 Tournament crown.

    Thursday's announcement marks the third selection to the 'Wade Watch' list for Appel, the Pac-10 Player of the Year and a State Farm Coaches' All-American in 2008-09. Heading into her senior year, the Pleasant Hill, Calif. native is coming off of a dominant 2008-09 campaign which saw her lead the Pac-10 with a 60.2 shooting percentage and 70 blocked shots, and finish second in scoring (16.1 ppg) and rebounding (9.2 rpg) while being named to the All-Pac-10 First Team.

    In addition, Appel, already Stanford's all-time leading shot blocker with 215, enters the 2009-10 season with 1,635 career points, seventh on Stanford's all-time list, and 942 career rebounds, third in the Cardinal record book. Those numbers give Appel a solid chance of becoming just Stanford's third player to record 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in her career, following Nicole Powell (2001-04) and Val Whiting (1990-93).

    For Pedersen it is her second straight selection to the preseason 'Wade Watch' list. The junior forward from Fountain Hills, Ariz. was named to the All-Pac-10 Third Team in 2008-09 after averaging 10.8 points and 7.8 rebounds per game, each figure being second-best on the team.

    The 2008 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year was one of only three Cardinal players to start all 38 games last season, posting six double-doubles and hitting 34 three-pointers on the way. At the Pac-10 Tournament, Pedersen took home the Most Outstanding Player award after averaging 11.3 points, 8.3 rebounds and 3.3 assists over the three tournament contests.

    Guard Jeanette Pohlen makes her first appearance on the 'Wade Watch' list after a breakout sophomore campaign in which she earned second-team All-Pac-10 honors. Pohlen scored 10.7 points per game in addition to making a conference-leading 83 three-pointers, finishing second in the Pac-10 with a 1.7 assist-to-turnover ratio and placing fifth with 3.8 assists per game.

    Along with Appel and Pedersen, Pohlen was the third Stanford player to start all 38 games in 2008-09. At the Berkeley Regional, Pohlen showed she can also mix it up inside as she averaged 10.0 rebounds in Stanford's two victories to go along with her 7.5 points and 4.0 assists per game. That performance earned the Brea, Calif. native a spot on the Berkeley All-Regional Team.

    Most recently, both Pedersen and Pohlen were part of the USA Basketball World University Games Team that went 7-0 and captured the gold medal at the 2009 World University Games in Belgrade, Serbia. Pohlen started six of the seven games for the U.S., averaging 5.0 points per game and finishing second on the team with 3.0 assists per game and seven three-pointers. Pedersen, meanwhile, started four of seven contests, averaging 7.1 points and placing third on the team with 6.4 rebounds a game.

    The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 33rd year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the 'Heisman of Women's Basketball,' is organized by the WBCA, in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

    The 2010 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in San Antonio, Texas, April 2-6.

    2009-2010 State Farm Wade Trophy Preseason List

    (Name Year Position Institution)

    Jayne Appel, Senior, C, Stanford
    Jessica Breland, Senior, F, North Carolina
    Tina Charles, Senior, C/F, Connecticut
    Alysha Clark, Senior, F, Middle Tennessee
    Allyssa DeHaan, Senior, C, Michigan State
    Alexis Gray-Lawson, Senior, G, Cal
    Tiffany Hayes, Sophomore, G, Connecticut
    Allison Hightower, Senior, G, LSU
    Ashley Houts, Senior, G, Georgia
    Jantel Lavender, Junior, C, Ohio State
    Danielle McCray, Senior, G/F, Kansas
    Jacinta Monroe, Senior, F/C, Florida State
    Maya Moore, Junior, F, Connecticut
    Jené Morris, Senior, G, San Diego State
    Deirdre Naughton, Senior, G, DePaul
    Kayla Pederson, Junior, F, Stanford
    Ta'Shia Phillips, Junior, C, Xavier
    Jeanette Pohlen, Junior, G, Stanford
    Samantha Prahalis, Sophomore, G, Ohio State
    Andrea Riley, Junior, G, Oklahoma State
    Danielle Robinson, Junior, G, Oklahoma
    Jenna Smith, Senior, C, Illinois
    Carolyn Swords, Junior, C, Boston College
    Courtney Vandersloot, Junior, G, Gonzaga
    Monica Wright, Senior, G, Virginia

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    9:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network