Washington's Lawrie Named Finalist for Sportswoman of the Year Award

Aug. 3, 2009

  • Vote For Lawrie Here

    WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- Washington softball player Danielle Lawrie has been named one of 10 finalists from around the world for the 2009 Women's Sports Foundation's Sportswoman of the Year award, the organization recently announced. Each year, the Women's Sports Foundation recognizes an individual and team Sportswoman whose performances over a 12-month span has been above and beyond those of their peers. Criteria is based on new records and world championships won.

    Lawrie is nominated in the team category with 10 other qualified athletes, including Brazilian soccer player Marta, University of Connecticut basketball player Renee Montgomery and other athletes representing the sports of tennis (doubles), volleyball, bobsledding, curling, bowling, lacrosse and ice hockey.

    Since the team category's inception in 1993, four softball players have won the award, including the past two years, with Stanford's Jessica Mendoza (2008) and Monica Abbott from Tennessee (2007). Previous winners include Lisa Fernandez (1994) from UCLA and Texas' Cat Osterman (2003).

    Other Pac-10 athletes to win the award include Stanford's Kerri Walsh, the four-time All-American and gold medal Olympian won the award with Misty May-Treanor in 2006. Lisa Leslie, a three-time All-American at USC, is a two-time winner of the award in 2003 and 2001. Cynthia Cooper, also a decorated Trojan, received the award in 1998.

    On the individual side, former Cal swimmer Natalie Coughlin won the honor in 2003. Famed Olympian and UCLA Bruin Gail Devers received the award in 1997. Swimmer Amy Van Dyken from Arizona adds to the list of Pac-10 athletes bestowed with the honor, having won it in 1996.

    Award winners will be announced on October 13, 2009 and honored at the Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

    Lawrie has been racking up the accolades since leading the Huskies to their first-ever softball National Championship. She was the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year and USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year before leading the Huskies to the title. After the team's storied run, she was named the NCAA Women's College World Series Most Outstanding Player along with winning the Honda Award, presented to the nation's top softball player. Lawrie was also a finalist for the Honda-Broderick Award, which is presented to the top collegiate female athlete regardless of sport, and was an ESPY Award nominee in the category of Top Female Collegiate Athlete.

    Lawrie is a member of the Canadian National Team and competed in the 2008 Olympic Games, leading Canada to the medal round. With the Huskies last season, she broke career and single-season UW strikeout records and led the nation in wins (42) and strikeouts (521).

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    9:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder