Solo, Ellertson Named To WPS All-Star Team

Aug. 10, 2009

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif. - Former Washington women's soccer players Hope Solo and Tina Ellertson have both made the most of their first season in the inaugural Women's Pro Soccer league, each being named to the 2009 WPS All-Star game.

Solo led all vote-getters among fans while Ellertson was named one of 11 starters for the team. While she led the league in votes, Solo will not be a starter for the team as the voting was based on 25 percent fan vote, 25 percent from media, 25 percent from coaches and 25 percent from players. Solo was named as one of seven reserves for the team.

More than 25,000 ballots were cast online by fans with Solo leading the way, ahead of Lori Chalupny and Shannon Boxx. Solo and Ellertson led the St. Louis Athletica to a 10-6-4 record this season, good for second place in the league standings heading into the playoffs. The Athletica will play the winner of Sky Blue FC-Washington Freedom opening playoff game. Should they win the semifinal, they would advance to the WPS Championship on Aug. 22 against the Los Angeles Sol.

The 2009 WPS All-Star Game features the WPS All-Stars against Swedish league champions Umeå IK at The Anheuser-Busch Soccer Park in Fenton, MO, on Sunday, August 30th with kick-off scheduled for 5:30 p.m. ET. The game will be televised live nationally on Fox Soccer Channel and regionally on select Fox Sports Net affiliates (check local listings) with coverage starting at 5 p.m. ET with a half-hour pre-game show prior to kick-off.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network