Verner and Price Named To Nagurski Award Watch List

Aug. 18, 2009

Two members of the UCLA defense, senior cornerback Alterraun Verner and junior tackle Brian Price, are among 62 players selected to the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Watch List, announced today by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Included on the list are two past finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, TCU end Jerry Hughes and South Florida end George Selvie

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy is awarded annually to the nation's best defensive player by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. The trophy has been presented since 1993 and is awarded in memory of the legendary Nagurski, an All-America lineman at Minnesota in 1927-29 and a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s.

Verner, who led the nation in passes defense a year ago, is also on the Watch Lists for the Bednarik Award (nation's top defensive player), Lott Trophy (nation's top defensive player) and the Thorpe Award (nation's top defensive back).

Price, who led the Bruins with 14.0 tackles for loss, is also on the Watch Lists of the Bednarink Award, the Rotary Lombardi Award (nation's top lineman) and the Outland Trophy (nation's top interior lineman).

Brian Price made 14.0 tackles for loss a year ago

The Bronko Nagurski Watch List is fluid. Players may be added or removed during the season. After the first four games of the season, the FWAA will revise the list and at that time school sports information directors may submit names for players not on the list to the FWAA and their conference's FWAA All-America Committee representative.

Each week during the 2009 season, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week. If the selected player is not on the watch list, he automatically will be added. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on November 18 or 19.The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 7 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Besides the 2009 winner being announced, the banquet will also celebrate the winner of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, presented by CSX Intermodal. Defensive back Roger Wehrli, a standout for the University of Missouri and the St. Louis Cardinals, is being honored from the FWAA's 1968 All-American team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder