Stanford To Host 2010 NCAA Women's Basketball First And Second Round

Aug. 19, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - The NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Committee has selected Stanford University to serve as a first- and second-round host for the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship, the school and the NCAA announced Tuesday. Maples Pavilion has been selected as a replacement site due to a facility conflict at the University of New Mexico's 'The Pit/Bob King Court' in Albuquerque, N.M.

Two first-round games will take place Saturday, March 20, with the winners meeting in a second-round contest Monday, March 22. Participating teams and game times will be announced on March 15, 2010 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Tickets to the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship First and Second Round contests at Stanford will go on sale in October. Please continue to check and for updated information on ticket prices and release dates.

The 2010 event will mark the 15th time that Maples Pavilion has served as a host site for the first and second rounds of the NCAA women's basketball tournament, and the third time in four years. Stanford most recently hosted the opening rounds of the 2007-08 draw, defeating Cleveland State and UTEP to advance to the Spokane Regional and eventually the Final Four in Tampa, Fla.

Over the 15 occasions in which Maples Pavilion has hosted NCAA women's basketball tournament contests, Stanford holds a record of 22-4 (.846) on its home court, including a 17-3 (.850) mark in first- and second-round contests.

Stanford will be one of 16 first- and second-round sites in 2010. The complete list of host sites includes California (Haas Pavilion, Berkeley, Calif.), Arizona State (Wells Fargo Arena, Tempe, Ariz.), Washington (Bank of America Arena, Seattle, Wash.), Duke (Cameron Indoor Stadium, Durham, N.C.), Tennessee (Thompson-Boling Arena, Knoxville, Tenn.), Louisville (Freedom Hall, Louisville, Ky.), Florida State (Donald L. Tucker Center, Tallahassee, Fla.), Iowa State (James H. Hilton Coliseum, Ames, Iowa), Texas (Frank Erwin Center, Austin, Texas), Xavier (Cintas Center, Cincinnati, Ohio), Minnesota (Williams Arena, Minneapolis, Minn.), Old Dominion (Ted Constant Convocation Center, Norfolk, Va.), Oklahoma (Lloyd Noble Center, Norman, Okla.), Notre Dame (Joyce Center, Notre Dame, Ind.) and Pittsburgh (Petersen Events Center, Pittsburgh, Pa.).

The 16 advancing teams will continue play at four regional sites: Sacramento, Calif. (Arco Arena), Memphis, Tenn. (FedEx Forum), Dayton, Ohio (University of Dayton Arena) and Kansas City, Mo. (Sprint Center). The 2010 NCAA Women's Final Four will be held at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas on April 4 and 6.

The Cardinal made its second straight NCAA Final Four appearance, and eighth overall, last season, finishing with a 33-5 record. Stanford also claimed its ninth consecutive Pac-10 regular season title with a 17-1 conference mark and went on to claim the Pac-10 Tournament crown as well. As a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament, Stanford captured the Berkeley Regional before falling to eventual national champion Connecticut in the national semifinal in St. Louis, Mo.

Last year Stanford featured State Farm Coaches' All-American and 2009 Pac-10 Player of the Year Jayne Appel, as well as All-Pac-10 Team picks Jillian Harmon and Jeanette Pohlen (second team), Kayla Pedersen (third team) and Nnemkadi Ogwumike (freshman).

About the NCAA and Division I Women's Basketball

The NCAA is a membership-led nonprofit association of colleges and universities committed to supporting academic and athletic opportunities for more than 400,000 student-athletes at more than 1,000 member colleges and universities. Each year, more than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships in Divisions I, II and III sports. Visit and for more details about the Association, its goals and members and corporate partnerships that help support programs for student-athletes.

NCAA women's basketball is characterized by strong fundamentals, high quality of play, sportsmanship, role model student-athletes and family oriented entertainment.

For the latest news in regard to the Women's Final Four, visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder