Thomas Named To Wooden Award Preseason List

Aug. 19, 2009

LOS ANGELES -- Husky sophomore-to-be Isaiah Thomas was named one of 50 preseason candidates for the 2009-10 John R. Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year trophy, it was announced today by Richard 'Duke'Llewellyn, Wooden Award Chairman and founder.

'I'm really honored,' said Thomas. 'This is a blessing from God to be on such a list with 50 of the best college players in the nation.'

Thomas, the 2009 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, is one of three conference players who are candidates -- joining fellow point guards Jerome Randle of California and Nic Wise of Arizona.

The Tacoma native was the Huskies leading scorer (15.5 ppg, seventh best among all Pac-10 players) and dished out a team-best 91 assists in 2008-09. He raised his scoring average to 16.0 ppg in Pac-10 play and helped Washington to its first outright conference championship since 1953.

In addition to his Pac-10 Freshman of the Year accolades, Thomas was named second-team All-Pac-10 and to Freshman All-American teams by and The Sporting News.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players andothers who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December's Midseasonlist and the official voting ballot released in March.

The 34th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men's andWomen's Wooden Award winner, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teamsand the Legends of Coaching Award, will take place the weekend of April 9-11, 2010.

About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in collegebasketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who hasproven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaininga cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan('84), Tim Duncan ('97), and Blake Griffin ('09). Candace Parker of Tennessee won the Women'sWooden Award in 2007 and 2008.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder