USC Tennis Holding NCAA Ring Ceremony

Sept. 22, 2009

The rings are in, and the USC men's tennis team has set aside 4:30 p.m. on Saturday (Sept. 26) to celebrate and honor its 2009 NCAA Team Championship in Heritage Hall. USC head coach Peter Smith extends an open invitation to attend the ceremony, in which the Trojans will receive their championship rings in recognition of their 2009 title. The entire 2008-09 team will be on-hand for the ceremony, which will take place in the main lobby of USC's Heritage Hall among the trophy cases where the Trojans' latest NCAA Trophy resides.

In May 2009, the USC men's tennis team wrapped up an outstanding NCAA tournament run by capturing one last upset win as the Trojans charged to the 2009 NCAA Championship with a 4-1 victory over Ohio State. For its winning 2009 run, USC had returned to the same site it won its last national championship in 2002. Back in College Station, Texas, the No. 8-seeded Trojans made the Texas A&M courts feel like home by opening with a tight win over fellow Pac-10 power Stanford. USC went on to turn heads by dealing out a 4-0 sweep of top-seeded and undefeated Virginia in the quarterfinals. Next was a 4-1 win over Texas in the semifinals in front of a Longhorn-heavy crowd to move into the title match for the first time since 2002. Up against No. 3 seed Ohio State, the Trojans dug deep for one final upset to snag that championship trophy with a dramatic win over the Buckeyes.

The 2009 NCAA Championship was the first for USC head coach Peter Smith, who had tallied his 400th career victory in the Trojans' quarterfinal upset of No. 1 Virginia. Now with 17 NCAA team titles all-time, USC is tied with Stanford for the most men's tennis national championships. As a whole, it was USC's 110th national championship as a university, holding USC as the nation's leader with 75 men's NCAA team titles. USC finished out 2009 with a 25-5 overall record -- the same mark it hit in 2002 when it won its last national championship -- and had Robert Farah, Steve Johnson, Daniel Nguyen, Matt Kecki and Jaak Poldma all earn NCAA All-Tournament honors.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder