Third-Ranked Golfers Begin 2009-10 Season in Tennessee

Sept. 24, 2009

The third-ranked UCLA women's golf team begins the 2009-10 season at the annual Mason Rudolph Championship, hosted by Vanderbilt University in Franklin, Ten., Sept. 25-27.

The Bruins are the two-time defending champions of this event, which will be held at the The Legends Club near the Vanderbilt campus.

'We're very excited to kick off our season at the Mason Rudolph Championship,' said Head Coach Carrie Forsyth. 'We have a great record of strong finishes at this tournament and the Legends Club is one of the best courses we play all season. This year's field is very deep.'

In 2007, the Bruins set a tournament record with a 54-hole score of 13-under par 851. Last season, UCLA improved that record by one shot (-14), thanks to an 11-under par second round of 277, another tournament record.

In addition, senior Sydnee Michaels became the first UCLA player to win medalist honors at this invitational. Her 11-under par three-round total of 205 was the second best winning sum in tournament history and also ranks second on the UCLA charts. Michaels is back to defend her title in 2009.

Sophomore Stephanie Kono, ranked third nationally in the preseason poll, will play at No.1 for the Bruins. A consensus first-team All-American last season, Kono won a pair of collegiate tournaments and led the Bruins in scoring at 72.3 last season.

Freshman Tiffany Lua joins the Bruins in the No.2 slot. A veteran USGA competitor, Lua earned First-Team AJGA All-America honors in 2008 prior to advancing to the semifinals of the 2009 U.S. Women's Amateur Championship in August.

Junior Glory Yang was a second-team All-America selection last season after winning 2008 Topy Cup medalist honors and earning First-Team All-Pac-10 honors.

Sophomore Brianna Do will play in the No.4 position for the Bruins. Do struggled to make last year's regular lineup, but enjoyed a stellar performance at the Collegiate Match Play Championships, recording a match play mark of 3-0-0.

The 17-team field includes top-ranked Arizona State, No.2 USC, fourth-ranked Oklahoma State and No.7 Alabama. In all, 13 of the teams in the field are ranked among the Top 25.

In Friday's opening round, the Bruins will tee off at 8:45 a.m. EDT from the first tee.

For all the latest information, click here.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder