Cross Country Teams Finish High at Griak Invitational

Sept. 26, 2009

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- The Washington State men's cross country team took fifth place and the women's team took sixth place in the Div. I Gold Races at the Roy Griak Invitational Saturday at the Les Bolstad Golf Course in Minneapolis, Minn.

The Cougar men scored 108 points and were led by the 11th place finish of senior Sam Ahlbeck (Renton) who finished the 8000m race in a time of 25 minutes, 7 seconds. The rest of the WSU scorers included freshman Andrew Kimpel, 19th (25:18), senior Mark Moeller, 23rd (25:22), sophomore Jono Lafler, 25th (25:23) and senior Dan Geib, 30th (25:29). Cougar men competing but not scoring were sophomore Justin Englund, 44th (25:49) and junior David Hickerson, 60th (26:12).

Iowa State was the top squad among the 18 men's teams with 71 points, and Minnesota's Hassan Mead was the top individual with a time of 24:37.5.

'We are upset we did not place higher today but being 35 points out of winning the whole thing, and be 100 points better than last year, that is a little frustrating for the guys,' WSU coach Pete Julian said. 'The top five teams were very close. We are dramatically better than last year and we are not a developing program anymore. I think we could have won today and it was an opportunity that got away. We are the real deal now and we will watch the teams ahead of us move up in the rankings and so this leaves a bitter taste in our mouths. Individually, Sam ran a very smart and controlled race and led the team. That was nice to see and to have the other individuals come through. We had a true freshman, Andrew Kimpel, finish in the top 20 and you don't see that very often in a major invitational. That is exciting for the future of the Cougar program.'

The Washington State women's team scored 200 points with senior Lisa Egami (Coquitlam, B.C.) leading the Cougs with a 21st place finish in the 6000m with a time of 22:28. Other Cougar scorers included senior Chelsea VanDeBrake, 28th (22:36), sophomore Emily Farrar, 46th (23:23), freshman Alyssa Andrews, 52nd (23:33), and junior Amanda Andrews, 53rd (23:35). WSU women competing out of the scoring were junior Ashlee Wall, 71st (23:59), and senior Marisa Sandoval, 79th (24:15).

Iowa State won the 18-team women's competition with 31 points and Minnesota's Megan Duwell was the individual winner in a time of 21:00.4.

'The women had a strong but not outstanding day,' Julian said. 'They put themselves in a position for success and they ran strong. I am fully confident that this team will only get better. This is the best performance the women's team has ever had at this meet. Across the board, both men and women, we are significantly improved. We are pleased with our effort today and pleased with the direction the program is going but at the same time, to not win at a meet like this is a little bit frustrating but will be a great motivator for the next three to six weeks.'

The Cougar cross country teams next competition is Oct. 17 at the Pre-National Meet at Terre Haute, Ind.

Men's ResultsRoy Griak Cross Country Invitational (Les Bolstad Golf Course, Minneapolis, Minn. 8,000m)September 26, 2009Men's Team Results: 1. Iowa State 71, 2. Oklahoma 74, 3. Duke 94, 4. Minnesota 101, 5. Washington State 108, 6. Michigan State 147, 7. Dayton 179, 8. Air Force Academy 223, 9. Navy 234, 10. Utah Valley 322, 11. Army 327, 12. High Point 348, 13. Missouri 374, 14. South Dakota State 394, 15. Drake 461, 16. Northern Iowa 473, 17. South Dakota 495, 18. Lipscomb 529.Top Five Individuals: 1. Hassan Mead (Minnesota) 24:37.5; 2. Guor Majak, (Iowa State) 24:50.3; 3. Bo Waggoner (Duke) 24:53.3; 4. Ben Blankenship (Minnesota) 24:56.9; 5. Justin Tyner, (Air Force Academy) 24:57.5.WSU Results: 11. Sam Ahlbeck 25:07; 19. Andrew Kimpel 25:18; 23. Mark Moeller 25:22; 25. Jono Lafler 25:23; 30. Dan Geib 25:29; 44. Justin Englund 25:49; 60. David Hickerson 26:12.

Women's ResultsRoy Griak Cross Country Invitational (Les Bolstad Golf Course, Minneapolis, Minn. 6,000m)September 26, 2009Women's Team Results: 1. Iowa State 31, 2. Minnesota 48, 3. Michigan State 80, 4. Utah Valley 135, 5. Unattached 144, 6. Washington State 200, 7. Alabama-Birmingham 251, 8. Connecticut 252, 9. Oklahoma 269, 10. Air Force Academy 275, 11. South Dakota State 280, 12. Army 310, 13. Northwestern 323, 14. High Point 394, 15. Drake 415, 16. Northern Illinois 455, 17. Lipscomb 459, 18. South Dakota 463.Top Five Individuals: 1. Megan Duwell (Minnesota) 21:00.4; 2. Lisa Koll (Iowa State) 21:12.7; 3. Betsy Saina (Iowa State) 21:27.4; 4. Emily MacLeod (Michigan State) 21:40.8; 5. Carlie Green (Michigan State) 21:43.9.WSU Results: 21. Lisa Egami 22:28; 28. Chelsea VanDeBrake 22:46; 46. Emily Farrar 23:23; 52. Alyssa Andrews 23:33; 53. Amanda Andrews 23:35; 71. Ashlee Wall 23:59; 79. Marisa Sandoval 24:15.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder