Sabrina Lopez Leads Cross Country at Mike Hodges

Oct. 16, 2009

Complete Mike Hodges Invitational Results

Oregon City, Ore. Running unattached, freshman Sabrina Lopez (Los Angeles, Calif.) led the Oregon State cross country team at the Mike Hodges Invitational, hosted by Clackamas Community College, on Friday afternoon.


“Overall things went really well today,” assistant coach Lauren Denfeld said. “Because of some sickness we were only able to run a small number of women in uniform. But those who raced put out a really great effort. This meet was significant because it was the first opportunity for many of our freshmen had to take part in a college cross country meet. We were really pleased and encouraged with what we saw with those young women.”


Lopez finished 23rd overall in the 127-runner field in the 5,000-meter race in 19:03. Close behind was freshman Ashley Mayfield (Seaside, Ore.) in 25th, finishing in 19:09.


Running attached, redshirt freshman Lorine Cruz (Grants Pass, Ore.) had the top finish for Oregon State, coming in 34th in 19:30. Sophomore Cassandra Schumacher (Sweet Home, Ore.) and sister junior Kambria Schumacher (Sweet Home, Ore.) finished 59th and 60th, respectively.


While three Oregon State runners ran attached, it wasn’t enough to take part in the team scoring. Five runners were needed. Oregon won the team competition with 22 points with Portland coming in second with 77 points.


The rest of the Oregon State runners will be competing at the Pre-Nationals Invitational in Terre Haute, Ind., on Saturday morning at approximately 9:00 a.m. PT.


Mike Hodges Invitational Individual Results (Top 5 and Oregon State Finishes out of 127): 1. Anne Kesselring, Oregon, 17:51; 2. Kayla Evans, Washington, 17:56; 3. Brooke Giuffre, Oregon, 17:59; 4. Mo Huber, Washington, 18:03; 5. Sarah Penney, Oregon, 18:08; 23. Sabrina Lopez, Unattached, 19:03; 25. Ashley Mayfield, Unattached, 19:09; 34. Lorine Cruz, Oregon State, 19:30; 43. Taylor Nowlin, Unattached, 19:38; 46. Regina Lopez, Unattached, 19:43; 47. Ariel Clark, Unattached, 19:45; 59. Cassandra Schumacher, Oregon State, 20:02; 60. Kambria Schumacher, Oregon State, 20:05; 68. Joslynn Corredor, Unattached, 20:20; 70. Hilary Sharpe, Unattached, 20:24; 78. Ashley Berry, Unattached, 20:38; 82. Lauren Graebner, Unattached, 20:45.


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an everyday champion.  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder