John Elway Named Walter Camp Football Foundation's 'Man of the Year'

Oct. 21, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Former Stanford University and NFL Hall of Famer John Elway is the recipient of the Walter Camp Football   Foundation’s “Man of the Year” award.  Elway joins a distinguished list of former “Man of the Year” winners, including Roger Staubach (Navy), Gale Sayers (Kansas), Dick Butkus (Illinois) and last year’s recipient    Morten Andersen (Michigan State).   

The Walter Camp “Man of the Year” award honors an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football as a player, coach or close attendant to the game. Camp was also a coach at Stanford in 1892, 1894 and 1895.

He must have attained a measure of success and been a leader in his chosen profession.  He must have contributed to    the public service for the benefit of his community, country and his fellow man.  He must have an impeccable reputation for integrity and    must be dedicated to our American Heritage and the philosophy of Walter Camp.   

“John Elway’s heroics and remarkable success on the football field are well know, but his continuing support of game of the football and the    greater good symbolizes the life of Walter Camp and make John a deserving recipient of the Man of the Year Award,” said Foundation president Alphonse Paolillo, Jr.   

After a storied scholastic career at Granada Hills High School, Elway    played collegiately at Stanford University and set numerous school and    Pac-10 offensive records.  Elway earned Walter Camp All-America honors in 1982. Elway was the first player selected – by the Baltimore Colts –    in the 1983 NFL Draft.  He was later traded to the Denver Broncos a week later.  Elway also played baseball at Stanford and was the top selection of the New York Yankees in the 1981 summer draft just two years after being drafted by the Kansas City Royals.  

The NFL’s all-time winningest starting quarterback, Elway played 16  seasons and was selected to nine Pro Bowls.  He was named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player in 1987 and the AFC Player of the Year in 1993.  Elway is the only player in NFL history to pass for over 3,000 yards and rush for over 200 yards in the same season for seven straight years    (1985-91).  Elway finished his career with 51,475 passing yards and 3,407 rushing yards.  His teams appeared in five Super Bowls, and Elway culminated his outstanding career by winning consecutive Super Bowl    titles (XXXII, XXXIII).  

Elway won Most Valuable Player honors in Super Bowl XXXIII as the Broncos defeated the Atlanta Falcons, 31-24. Elway retired in 1999 and the Broncos retired his jersey number (#7). He was later inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004.  In 2000,    Elway was selected to the College Football Hall of Fame.   

Elway has been recognized for his tireless community involvement. In 1992, he was honored as the “Edge NFL Man of the Year.”   In addition, Elway established the “Elway Foundation,” a non-profit organization that  raises money directed towards the prevention and treatment of child    abuse throughout Colorado.  

Elway as well as all of the major award winners and members of the 2009    Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization’s 42nd annual national awards banquet on Saturday, January 16, 2010 at the Yale  University Commons in New Haven.  Sponsorships and dinner tickets are  available by calling (203) 288-CAMP.   

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and  football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage,  set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967    to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of  selecting annually an All-America team and honoring deserving  individuals.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder