Cardinal to Face Top Field at Isleworth Collegiate Invitational

Oct. 22, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - One of the strongest fields in the nation will await Stanford's men's golf team at the Isleworth Collegiate Invitational, which gets underway on Sunday in at the Isleworth Golf & Country Club in Windemere, Fla.

Fifteen of the nation's top programs will be competing for the title, including seven that are ranked in the top-10 nationally, including top-ranked Arizona State, second-ranked Arizona State, third-ranked Illinois, fourth-ranked Washington, fifth-ranked TCU, sixth-ranked Stanford and 10th-ranked Florida. South Carolina (12) and Alabama (15) are also included in the field. Other top-25 teams competing will be host Texas Tech (22), Clemson (23) and Georgia (24).

Perennial NCAA Tournament participants East Tennesse State, Central Florida and Kentucky complete the field.

In addition, 22 of the top 50 golfers in Golfweek's rankings will be competing for the individual title.

Stanford head coach Conrad Ray is expected to start a lineup consisting of sophomore David Chung, juniors Steve Ziegler and Sihwan Kim, senior Jordan Cox and freshman Andrew Yun.

'The Isleworth Collegiate represents the strongest field we will see to date,' said Ray. 'The golf course is very demanding and traditionally it takes our team out of their comfort level with the challenging conditions and different grasses. It is a great event and we are very excited to get down there and play well. We may also have the chance to spend some Tiger which is also an added bonus. As you can imagine he is a great influence.'

Stanford opened its fall season with a fourth place showing at the Fighting Illini Invitational at Olympia Fields Golf Club before placing second at The Prestige at PGA West.

The 54-hole event begins each day, Sunday through Tuesday, with an 8 a.m. ET start at holes 1 & 10. A practice round is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. Saturday. Isleworth Golf & Country Club features a par 72, 7,491-yard format, and consistently ranks as one of the longest and most difficult courses in the state of Florida. The course was designed by Arnold Palmer and Ed Seay, and later redesigned and enhanced by Steve Smyers.

Georgia is the defending champion and has won four of the five team titles since the tournament's inception in 2004. Georgia's Russell Henley returns to defend is individual title.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder