ASUW Student Senate Passes Resolution Honoring Softball Team

Oct. 29, 2009

SEATTLE - The Associated Students of the University of Washington (ASUW) Student Senate passed a resolution unanimously on Tuesday in support of the UW softball team's 2009 championship season.

Players and coaches from the 2009 team attended the weekly meeting on Tuesday in the Husky Student Union Building. The resolution passed unanimously, 44-0. National Softball Player of the Year Danielle Lawrie spoke briefly to the senate on behalf of the team.

'As the student opinion establishing body on campus, we really appreciate the opportunity to congratulate and award our athletes for their accomplishments,' ASUW Student Senate Chair Jed Bradley said. 'In this case, the softball team went way above and beyond some of the accomplishments that we have awarded groups for in the past, so it was really important to us that we recognize them for it.'

Below is the resolution.

* R-16-3 *

Sponsor: Maggie E. Capwell, Publicity, Outreach, and Membership Committee Chair
Cosponsors: Gerald Corporal, ASUW Student Senate Vice Chair Sarah Round, ASUW Student Senate Membership Coordinator Bryan Dosono.

A Resolution Commending the UW Softball Team for its Successful 2009 Season

WHEREAS the 2009 UW Softball Team earned the NCAA Division I Championship Title, the first NCAA title in the program's history; and

WHEREAS the team had an outstanding 2009 regular season record of 41-10 with a home record of 15-1; and

WHEREAS in the Pac-10 conference, arguably the most challenging Division I conference for softball, the team placed second with an overall conference record of 14-7; and

WHEREAS the team earned the number three seed in the 64-team NCAA Division I Tournament, making their 16th consecutive postseason appearance; and

WHEREAS for her exceptional 2009 season, Danielle Lawrie was named the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, six-time Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week, and NFCA First Team All-American; she was also nominated for an ESPY while leading the Pac-10 in ERA and Strikeouts and breaking both the UW's career strikeout record and single season shutout record; and

WHEREAS Ashley Charters was also named a NFCA First Team All-American; and

WHEREAS Charters and Morgan Stuart earned Pac-10 Player of the Week honors during the season; and

WHEREAS Charters appears on six of the Pac-10 final offensive standing lists; and

WHEREAS the All-Pacific Region first team included UW team members Ashley Charters, Danielle Lawrie, Kimi Pohlman, and Ashlyn Watson; and

WHEREAS seven members of the team were named to Pac-10 All-Academic teams, with Morgan Stuart on the First Team, Amanda Fleischman, Ashlyn Watson, and Alyson McWherter on the Second Team, and Alicia Blake, Ashley Charters, and Marney Koziel as Honorable Mentions; and

WHEREAS head coach Heather Tarr and her coaching staff were named the Division I Coaching Staff of the Year by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association; thereforeBE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON:

THAT the ASUW formally recognizes, honors, and congratulates the UW Softball team for their hard work and successful season; and

THAT a copy of this legislation be forwarded to the coaching staff of the UW Softball team.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder