UCLA Rowing Competes in Head of the Marina, Newport Autumn Rowing Festival

Nov. 3, 2009

MARINA DEL REY, Calif. - The UCLA women's rowing team competed at the Head of the Marina on Saturday, Oct. 31, before rowing at the Newport Autumn Rowing Festival on Sunday, Nov. 1.

Competing in a home course row on Saturday, senior Lynn Hancock and freshman Britta Syverson were winners in the open pair. The winners in the open four were sophomore Lindsay Pollock and freshmen Hillary Caldwell, Anoush Khojikian and Kirstin Snook. The novice eight was uncontested but was a good row for the Bruins.

UCLA's varsity eight won its race with a time of 16:03 on Sunday at the Newport Autumn Rowing Festival. The Bruins finished ahead of the University of San Diego, which clocked in with a time of 16:39. The Bruins' second varsity finished fifth overall, first among `B' boats with a time of 17:03.

The varsity four `A' boat finished second overall, posting a time of 19:17. The varsity four `B' crew raced to a third-place finish, posting a time of 20:10. UCLA's novice eight finished eighth overall, as over 50 percent of the crew is new to the sport since arriving in Westwood this fall.

Rowing Lineups
Newport Autumn Rowing Festival (Nov. 1, 2009)

Varsity Eight: Lauren Counter (stroke), Rachel LaBella (7), Britta Syverson (6), Lynn Hancock (5), Kristin Fitzmorris (4), Erica Lockard (3), Alexandra Bolt (2), Caroline Curson (bow), Alaizah Koorji (coxswain).

Second Varsity Eight: Alexa Farafontoff (stroke), Christina Sprouse (7), Nadia Basilio (6), Hillary Caldwell (5), Lindsay Pollock (4), Anoush Khojikian (3), Kirstin Snook (2), Megan Danley (bow), Leslie Chou (coxswain).

Varsity Four `A': Taylor Vella (stroke), Jasmine Conrad (3), Kaitlin Doering (2), Anne Schier (bow), Ariel Handler (coxswain).

Varsity Four `B': Andrea Panayides (stroke), Alexis McPhee (3), Piper Akol (2), Jennifer Barnard (bow), Lisa Erlanger (coxswain).

Novice Eight: Natasha Weidemann (stroke), Lucy Thomas (7), Meguire Broersma (6), Leah Drummond (5), Christa Czer (4), Sabina Woodward (3), Anya Vo (2), Shawn McGuire (bow), Mia Hamano (coxswain).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder