Brian Price Named Bednarik Award Semifinalist

Nov. 4, 2009

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2009 Semifinalists for the 73rd Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year, and the 21st George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards and 15 candidates for the Munger Award as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

UCLA junior defensive tackle Brian Price is one of the 16 semifinalists for the Bednarik Award. Thus far in 2009, Price has accounted for 12.0 tackles for loss (1.50 per game). His average leads the Pac-10 and ranks 15th (tied) in the nation.He also leads the Bruins with 4.0 sacks, tied for 9th in the Pac-10.

The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 10, 2009. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 23, 2009 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winner of the 21st George Munger Award via a press release in December. The winners of the 73rd Maxwell Award and the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 5, 2010 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Voting for all three of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday November 4th and close on Sunday November 22nd. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

Semifinalists for the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award
Angerer, Pat, University of Iowa, LB, SR
Berry, Eric, University of Tennessee, DB, JR
Bowman, Navorro, Penn State University, LB, JR
Cody, Terrence, University of Alabama, DL, SR
Curran, Rennie, University of Georgia, LB, JR
Hughes, Jerry, Texas Christian University, DL, SR
Jones, Greg, Michigan State University, LB, JR
Mays, Taylor, University of Southern California, DB, SR
McClain, Rolando, University of Alabama, LB, JR
McCoy, Gerald, University of Oklahoma, DL, SR
Miller, Von, Texas A&M, DL, JR
Norwood, Eric, University of South Carolina, LB, SR
Price, Brian, UCLA, DL, JR
Schofield, O'Brien, University of Wisconsin, DL, SR
Spikes, Brandon, University of Florida, LB, SR
Suh, Ndamukong, University of Nebraska, DL, SR

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder