Alexis Gray-Lawson Selected as Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Nov. 5, 2009


Senior guard Alexis Gray-Lawson has been named as one of 30 contenders for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, an award the honors character as well as athletic accomplishments.

Thirty women's basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were tabbed as candidates today for the 2009-10 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. To beeligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: classroom, character, community and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The list of 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists each midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.

This is the third national honor's preseason watch list that has included Gray-Lawson. She is also a preseason candidate for the two national Player of the Year awards, the Wooden Award and the State Farm WBCA Wade Trophy.

This year's preseason candidates are: Jayne Appel (Stanford), Miranda Ayim (Pepperdine), Amy Beggin (New Mexico), Joy Cheek (Duke), Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee State), Allyssa DeHaan (Michigan State), Claire Faucher (Portland State), Kristen Feemster (Western Carolina), Jordan Franey (U.C. Santa Barbara), Tyra Grant (Penn State), Alexis Gray-Lawson (California), Kelsey Griffin (Nebraska), Lisa Helmers (Loyola Marymount), Allison Hightower (Louisiana State), Ashley Houts (Georgia), May Kotsopoulos (Vermont), Maggie Krick (Illinois State), Kelsey Luna (Indiana State), Joy McCorvey (St. John's), Danielle McCray (Kansas), Jessica Mooney (Vanderbilt), Jené Morris (San Diego State), Deirdre Naughton (DePaul), Lauren Sims (Long Beach State), Jenna Smith (Illinois), Ashley Sweat (Kansas State), Bianca Thomas (Mississippi),Amanda Thompson (Oklahoma), Jenny Van Kirk (Bradley), Monica Wright (Virginia).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder