USC Hosts Trojan Diving Invitational

Nov. 5, 2009

Sophomore All-Americans Victoria Ishimatsu and Harrison Jones and freshman Ariel Rittenhouse, a 2008 Olympian, will be among the divers in action this week for USC as it hosts its annual Trojan Diving Invitational, Friday and Saturday (Nov. 6-7) at the USC McDonald's Swim Stadium.

USC will be joined by Pac-10 foes UCLA, Cal and Stanford as well as San Jose State, Cal State Bakersfield, Hawaii and Air Force.

Action begins Friday at 10 a.m. with the men's 1-meter prelim and the women's 3-meter prelim. Finals for both events start at 11:15 a.m. The men's and women's platform is scheduled for 2:30 p.m.

On Saturday, the men's 3-meter and women's 1-meter prelims begin at 10 a.m. with finals starting at 11:15 a.m.

As a 2009 freshman, Ishimatsu earned All-American honors on the 1-meter springboard at the NCAA Championships, finishing fifth. She also scored points on platform with a 12th-place mark. At the 2009 Pac-10 Championships, Ishimatsu won a Pac-10 title on 3-meter (327.70).

Jones was a two-time All-American and a Pac-10 champion as a 2009 freshman. At the 2009 NCAA Championships, Jones was fourth on 1-meter springboard and took sixth on platform. He also scored on 3-meter, finishing 10th. At the 2009 Pac-10 Championships, Jones won his first conference crown on platform while he also took second on both 1-meter and 3-meter.

Junior teammate Steven Starks is a two-time NCAA Championships point scorer and a six-time Pac-10 Championships finalist.

Rittenhouse competed at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, where she finished fourth on 3-meter synchro (with Kelci Bryant). Most recently, she represented the U.S. at the 2009 World Championships in Rome, where she finished fifth on 3-meter and sixth on 3-meter synchro. Her fifth-place on 3-meter was the first American top 5 finish at the world championships since 1994.

Other Trojans set to compete include senior Alexis Demond (a Pac-10 Championships finalist), junior Christine Petrilli and sophomore Michela Fossati-Bellani as well as junior Greg Miller (a Pac-10 Championships finalist) and sophomore Robbie Taylor.

Results will be posted to

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder