O'Hara wins Pac-10 Player of Year

Nov. 11, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Record-setting senior Kelley O'Hara was named as the Pacific-10 Conference's women's soccer Player of the Year on Wednesday, leading a sweep of individual honors for No. 1 Stanford.

Freshman midfielder Mariah Nogueira was named Newcomer of the Year, the third consecutive year Stanford has won the honor, and Paul Ratcliffe repeated as Coach of the Year.

In all, nine Stanford players received all-conference honors - five on the first team, two on second and two on honorable mention. In addition, the Cardinal had four players named to the All-Freshman team.

O'Hara, a forward from Fayetteville, Ga., broke Cardinal season records for goals (23) and points (55) this season and is within reach of Stanford career marks in both categories as she heads into the NCAA Tournament, which begins Thursday against visiting Northern Arizona.

O'Hara, who also has nine assists, has scored in 13 matches for the Cardinal (20-0) and has seven multi-goal performances, including two hat tricks. In Stanford's 14 matches against teams in this year's NCAA field, O'Hara has 16 goals, eight assists, three two-goal games and a hat trick. She has eight game-winning goals.

The choice of O'Hara marks the fourth time a Stanford player has received the honor, and the first since Marcia Wallis won it in 2002. Other Stanford winners were Tracye Lawyer (1998), Erin Martin (1996) and Carmel Murphy (1995, the first year of the award).

Nogueira, from Westminster, Calif., has five goals and five assists despite playing a defensive midfielder position. Besides her offensive strengths, especially as a target on set pieces, Nogueira is an outstanding defensive player who has helped the Cardinal earn 11 shutouts this season.

Nogueira joins teammates Lindsay Taylor (2008) and Christen Press (2007) as consecutive Stanford Newcomer award winners.

Ratcliffe, in his seventh season, guided Stanford to its first Pac-10 championship since 2002 and the program's first perfect regular season. The Cardinal reached the NCAA Tournament for the 12th consecutive season and Ratcliffe earned his 100th victory at Stanford this season and the 150th victory of his collegiate coaching career. His all-time record is 160-67-23.

Stanford players earning all-conference first-team honors were O'Hara, Nogueira, Press, senior defender Ali Riley and defender Rachel Quon, the only other freshman to make the first team. This is the first All-Pac-10 first-team selection for each of them, including O'Hara.

Stanford's second-team selections were Taylor, a sophomore forward, and freshman defender Alina Garciamendez. Earning honorable mention honors were senior defender Alicia Jenkins and sophomore midfielder Camille Levin.

Earning All-Freshman honors were Nogueira, Quon, Garciamendez and forward Courtney Verloo.


Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder