Cross Country Heads to NCAA West Regional

Nov. 12, 2009

Corvallis, Ore. The Oregon State cross country team will send seven runners to the NCAA West Regional, hosted by the University of Oregon, on Saturday, Nov. 14, at 10:45 a.m.


The 6,000-meter course will take place at the Springfield Country Club over a relatively flat course. The 6,000-meters will be two trips around the outer loop and the finish loop.


“This is the strongest region in the country top to bottom, and our goal is to finish this season off with our best race of the year; I am confident we will,” head coach Kelly Sullivan said. “The women have been looking really good these past two weeks, and I know they are focused on doing the same. Oregon does a great job putting on a championship meet, and we are familiar with the course, so it should be a great experience for them all.”


Juniors Abby Chesimet (Astoria, Ore.), Jennifer Macias (Hermiston, Ore.) and Hannah Soza-Hodgkinson (Forest Ranch, Calif.) lead the young group of runners. Also competing are redshirt sophomore Laura Carlyle (Kelowna, British Columbia), redshirt freshman Olivia Poblacion (Portland, Ore.) and freshmen Sabrina Lopez (Los Angeles, Calif.) and Sandra Martinez (Yakima, Wash.).


Redshirt freshman Natosha Buruse (Ridgefield, Wash.) and freshman Ashley Mayfield (Seaside, Ore.) will serve as alternates.


The Beavers finished eighth two weeks ago at the Pacific-10 Championships, led by Carlyle, who finished 38th overall.


Last season, Oregon State finished ninth at the NCAA West Regional, hosted by Stanford. Casey Masterson finished 45th out of 206 in 21:16.07.


Twenty-eight women’s teams will be competing, along with seven individuals, with Pac-10 teams No. 5 Oregon, No. 14 Stanford, No. 16 Arizona State, No. 24 Arizona and No. 27 California leading the way. The top two teams automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships. Individual and at-large bids will be granted based upon finishes.


The West Region encompasses colleges from the states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon and Washington, with the exception of Idaho State and Northern Arizona, which compete in the Mountain Region.


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an everyday champion.  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder