No. 1 Stanford Begins NCAA Play

Nov. 12, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. -

Tournament Central

Complete Release in PDF Format This Week
No. 1 Stanford (20-0), the Pacific-10 Conference champion, opens NCAA Tournament play against Big Sky Conference tournament champion Northern Arizona (10-8-2) in the nightcap of a first-round doubleheader at Laird Q. Cagan Stadium, at 7 p.m. BYU (17-3-2) plays UC Santa Barbara (9-9-3) in the opener, at 4:30. The winners meet Saturday at the same field at 1 p.m. Stanford, making its 12th consecutive NCAA appearance, is among four No. 1 seeds in the tournament, along with UCLA, North Carolina and Florida State.

Game Coverage
Live stats and free webcasts for all three matches are available on Click on the Tournament Central button for links. Kevin Danna and Tim Swartz will call the action on streaming video. In addition, KZSU will provide a live Internet-only broadcast, with Scott Bland on the call. It can be found at Press play on the tool bar next to KZSU-2.

Ticket Information
Tickets are $8 for adults and $6 for youths and seniors. One ticket is good for both Thursday matches, but the stadium will be cleared between games and all personal belongings must be picked up as well. Tickets can be purchased on-line at, in person at the ticket office located at the south end of Stanford Stadium, at the gate before the game, or by phone at 1-800-STANFORD and (650) 723-1021. The addition of 700 bleacher seats has expanded the capacity of Cagan Stadium to 2,200 for the tournament.

Pac-10 Honors
After winning its first Pac-10 championship since 2002, Stanford swept individual honors among the all-conference awards. Senior forward Kelley O'Hara (23 goals, 9 assists) was the Player the Year, freshman midfielder Mariah Nogueira (5g, 5a) was Newcomer of the Year, and Paul Ratcliffe repeated as Coach of the Year. In all, five Stanford players were named to the 11-player first team, all for the first time. They were: O'Hara, Nogueira, junior forward Christen Press (16 g, 13a) freshman defender Rachel Quon and senior defender Ali Riley.

Making Her Mark
Junior goalkeeper Kira Maker has assembled an impressive record in three years as a starter. Maker's overall record is 47-4-3 with a 0.53 career goals-against average. Maker has credit for 24 shutouts, and has contributed to 30 altogether. Her GAA would rank No. 3 all-time on Stanford's career list.

National Leaders
Stanford is among the national statistical leaders in the following categories:
• Won-Lost-Tied Percentage: 1, Stanford, 1.000
• Scoring Offense (Team): 2, Stanford, 3.50 goals per game
• Points Per Game (Individual): 2, Kelley O'Hara, 2.75; 6, Christen Press, 2.25
• Goals (Individual): 2, Kelley O'Hara, 23; 6 (tie), Christen Press, 16
• Assists: 3 (tie), Christen Press, 13

Stanford Streaks
• Overall winning and unbeaten streak (20)
• Home unbeaten streak (22)
• Home winning streak (18)

Thursday's Opponent: Northern Arizona
Northern Arizona (10-8-2) advanced to the NCAAs by beating Idaho, 4-0, in the Big Sky Conference tournament final Sunday. The Lumberjacks tied for third in the conference standings before their tournament run. Junior defender Kristi Andreassen, midfielder Brenna Boies and sophomore forward Jenna Samora each were named to the All-Big Sky first team, with Samora leading the team with eight goals. This is the first meeting between the schools.

No. 20 BYU (17-3-2) advanced as an at-large following its 1-0 loss to San Diego State in the championship of the Mountain West Conference tournament. The Cougars won the MWC regular-season title and feature the conference's Defensive Player of the Year, Andrea Willis, and Freshman of the Year, Carlee Payne, the team's leading scorer with 13 goals.

UCSB (9-9-3) earned an NCAA berth by winning won the Big West Conference tournament on penalty kicks, 5-4, over Cal Poly after they had tied 1-1 through two overtimes. Sophomore midfielder Katy Roby tied the match in the 69th minute and was named MVP of the tournament. Kailyn Kugler leads the team with nine goals and was named Big West Offensive Player of the Year.


Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder