Johnny Hekker Named A Semifinalist for Ray Guy Award

Nov. 13, 2009

Corvallis, Ore. -

Oregon State sophomore Johnny Hekker has been announced by the Augusta Sports Council as one of 10 semi-finalists for the 2009 Ray Guy Award, given annually to the nation’s top punter.


Hekker, from Bothell, Wash., came to OSU as a walkon prior to the 2008 season and was later awarded a scholarship.  He was named the 2008 Sun Bowl Special Teams MVP after booting 10 punts for an average of 45 yards in blustery conditions in El Paso.


This season, Hekker is averaging 42.7 yards per punt.  He has had 15 punts downed inside the 20-yard-line, five touchbacks and nine kicks of 50-plus yards. 


Hekker is joined on the semifinalist list by Drew Butler of Georgia, Peter Caldwell of Utah State, Desi Cullen of Connecticut, Ryan Donahue of Iowa, Chas Henry of Florida, Jeff Locke of UCLA, Rob Long of Syracuse, Zoltan Mesko of Michigan and Matt Reagan of Memphis. 


The winner of the Ray Guy Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show Dec. 10, 2009.  The formal presentation of the award will be held in late January in Georgia at the All Area Football Banquet presented by the Augusta Sports Council and The Augusta Chronicle.


Oregon State finishes its 2009 home schedule Sat., Nov. 14 against the Washington Huskies.  Kickoff is slated for 12:30 p.m. from Reser Stadium and the game is being televised live by FSN Northwest, beginning at Noon.  Tickets are available by calling 1-800-GO-BEAVS until 4:30 p.m. Friday or ordering online.


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370. You can make an “everyday champion.”  Follow Beaver Athletics on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube. Purchase your football tickets today.


Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder