Amobi Okugo Named Pac-10 Freshman Of The Year

Nov. 17, 2009

UCLA midfielder Amobi Okugo was named the Pac-10 Men's Soccer Freshman of the Year, and the back-to-back Pac-10 Conference champions landed six players on the 2009 All-Pac-10 teams, including four on the first team.

Receiving first-team all-conference honors were seniors David Estrada, Kyle Nakazawa, Brian Perk and Michael Stephens. Okugo received second-team acclaim, and senior Sean Alvarado picked up an honorable mention nod.

Okugo (Sacramento, CA/Rio Americano HS) becomes the fourth Bruin player and first since 2005 to win the honor of Pac-10 Freshman of Year. He joins Alex Yi (2000), Chad Barrett (2003) and Sal Zizzo (2005) as the other Bruins to win the postseason accolade. Okugo started every game in a defensive midfield position for the Bruins, recording two assists and helping the Bruin defense to a Conference leading 0.78 team goals against average.

Estrada (Salinas, CA) picks up his fourth career All-Pac-10 honor and first first-team selection. He ranks second on the UCLA squad in scoring with 13 points (3g, 7a) and leads the team and ranks second in the Pac-10 in assists.

Nakazawa (Palos Verdes Estates, CA) ranked second in the Pac-10 in goals scored (11) and points (28) and was tied for fourth in assists (6). He provided the bulk of the scoring for UCLA this season, recording a goal or assist on 63% of the Bruin goals. This is Nakazawa's third career all-conference nod and first first-team selection.

Perk (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA) also becomes a first-time first-team all-conference selection and three-time overall pick. He led the Pac-10 in goals against average (0.75) and save percentage (.833) and ranked second in shutouts per game (0.33). Perk tied the Pac-10 record earlier in the year with four career Pac-10 Player of the Week honors.

Stephens (Naperville, IL) received his second consecutive first-team honor. Last season he was the Pac-10 Player of the Year. This year, he ranks fourth in the Pac-10 in assists with six despite having missed five games while playing with the U.S. U-20 National Team.

Alvarado (West Orange, NJ) is a first-time conference honoree. One of just four players to start in all 17 games this year (the other three are Estrada, Nakazawa and Okugo), Alvarado came back from injury-plagued sophomore and junior seasons to lead the Bruin team in minutes played (1566). He has scored two goals this season, including the game-winner at Maryland.

2009 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
Danny Mwanga, F, So., Oregon State
Kyle Nakazawa, MF, Sr., UCLA
Andrew Wiedeman*, F, Jr., California
Michael Stephens*, MF, Sr., UCLA
Bobby Warshaw*, D, Jr., Stanford
David Estrada, MF, Sr., UCLA
Nick Cardenas, D, Sr., San Diego State
Brian Perk, GK, Sr., UCLA
Michael Strickland*, MF, Sr., Stanford
Hector Jimenez* MF Rs-Jr. California
A.J. Soares, D, Jr., California

*Two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

2009 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
David Bingham, GK, So., California
Taylor Muellar, MF, Jr., Washington
Amobi Okugo, MF, Fr., UCLA
Matt Van Houten, MF, Jr., Washington
Brent Richards, F, So., Washington
Servando Carrasco, MF, Jr., California
Adam Jahn, F, Fr., Stanford
Raymundo Reza, F, Jr., San Diego State
Evan Morgan, F, Rs-Sr., Stanford
Colin Mitchell, MF, So., Oregon State
Khadim Diouf, MF, Jr., San Diego State

2009 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-Conference
T.J. Novak (STAN, Rs-Sr., MF); John Moore (STAN, SR, GK); Chris Harms (OSU, Rs-Fr. D); Evan Toft (SDSU, Sr., MF); Steve Beitashour (SDSU, Rs-Sr., D); Sean Alvardo (UCLA, Sr., D); Taylor Hoss (WASH, Sr. D); Daniel Ortega (SDSU, Sr., MF); Jamie Finch (WASH, Rs-So., D); Ryan Thomas (STAN, Jr., D); Chris Miller (OSU, Jr., F); Tanner French (OSU, Fr., D); Jacob Wilson (CAL, Sr., D); Jeff Cosgriff (CAL, Sr., F); Casey Cunningham (WASH, Sr., MF); Daniel Steres (SDSU, So., D); Brad Keller (WASH, Jr., MF); Ryan Moore (STAN, Fr., F); Rylan Hawkins (WASH, Rs-Sr., GK); Justin Davies (SDSU, Rs-So., D); Jose Altamirano (SDSU, Fr., MF); Steve Spangler (OSU, So., GK); Jamal Wallace (SDSU, Rs-Sr., D)

Pac-10 Player of the Year: Danny Mwanga, Oregon State
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Amobi Okugo, UCLA
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Bret Simon, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network