Mwanga Becomes First Ever Oregon State Pac-10 Player of the Year

Nov. 17, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- Oregon State sophomore forward Danny Mwanga was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, as Commissioner Larry Scott announced the men's soccer all-conference honors Tuesday.

'Obviously Danny (Mwanga) is very deserving of the award and he'll tell you that the only thing missing from this year is a NCAA Tournament appearance,' Oregon State men's soccer head coach Steve Simmons said. 'He represents Oregon State very well and goes at it in a business manner. He is a great teammate and player and makes other better. I am so pleased for Danny.'

Mwanga, a native of Portland, Ore., becomes the first-ever Oregon State player to be named Conference Player of the Year. Last season's Freshman of the Year, Mwanga led the Conference in multiple categories, including points (30), points per game (1.67), goals scored (14), goals per game (0.78) and game-winning goals (5). His marks in goals per game and points per game rank fourth and 12th in the NCAA, respectively.

Mwanga became only the fourth Pac-10 men's soccer player all-time to earn back-to-back Player of the Week honors, doing so on Nov. 10, 2009 and Nov. 17, 2009.

Mwanga's totals in goals, points, and shots (64) are the most since 2002 when Alan Gordon had 15 goals, 34 points, and 73 shots.

UCLA's Amobi Okugo was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Stanford head coach Bret Simon was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year

Along with being named Player of the Year, Mwanga was named to the All-Pac-10 First team. Sophomore midfielder Colin Mitchell was named to the All-Pac-10 Second team while Chris Harms, Chris Miller, Tanner French, and Steve Spangler were named as honorable mentions.

FIRST TEAM (Position, Year, School)Danny Mwanga, F, So., Oregon StateKyle Nakazawa, MF, Sr., UCLAAndrew Wiedeman,* F, Jr., CaliforniaMichael Stephens,* MF, Sr., UCLABobby Warshaw,* D, Jr., StanfordDavid Estrada, MF, Sr., UCLANick Cardenas, D, Sr., San Diego StateBrian Perk, GK, Sr., UCLAMichael Strickland,* MF, Sr., StanfordHector Jimenez,* MF, Rs-Jr., CaliforniaA.J. Soares, D, Jr., California

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

SECOND TEAM (Position, Year, School)David Bingham, GK, So., CaliforniaTaylor Muellar, MF, Jr., WashingtonAmobi Okugo, MF, Fr., UCLAMatt Van Houten, MF, Jr., WashingtonBrent Richards, F, So., WashingtonServando Carrasco, MF, Jr., CaliforniaAdam Jahn, F, Fr., StanfordRaymundo Reza, F, Jr., San Diego StateEvan Morgan, F, Rs-Sr., StanfordColin Mitchell, MF, So., Oregon StateKhadim Diouf, MF, Jr., San Diego State

Honorable Mention (received votes): T.J. Novak (STAN, Rs-Sr., MF); John Moore (STAN, SR, GK); Chris Harms (OSU, Rs-Fr. D); Evan Toft (SDSU, Sr., MF); Steve Beitashour (SDSU, Rs-Sr., D); Sean Alvardo (UCLA, Sr., D); Taylor Hoss (WASH, Sr. D); Daniel Ortega (SDSU, Sr., MF); Jamie Finch (WASH, Rs-So., D); Ryan Thomas (STAN, Jr., D); Chris Miller (OSU, Jr., F); Tanner French (OSU, Fr., D); Jacob Wilson (CAL, Sr., D); Jeff Cosgriff (CAL, Sr., F); Casey Cunningham (WASH, Sr., MF); Daniel Steres (SDSU, So., D); Brad Keller (WASH, Jr., MF); Ryan Moore (STAN, Fr., F); Rylan Hawkins (WASH, Rs-Sr., GK); Justin Davies (SDSU, Rs-So., D); Jose Altamirano (SDSU, Fr., MF); Steve Spangler (OSU, So., GK); Jamal Wallace (SDSU, Rs-Sr., D)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder