Lincecum Wins Second Straight Cy Young Award

Nov. 19, 2009

Former Washington Husky Tim Lincecum has won his second straight National League Cy Young Award, Major League Baseball announced today.

Lincecum, in his third season with the San Francisco Giants, won the award in a mild upset, beating out a pair of St. Louis Cardinals, Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainright.

The right-hander from Liberty High went 15-7 with a 2.48 earned run average and 261 strikeouts.

Lincecum, who spent the 2004 through 2006 seasons with the Huskies and won the Golden Spikes Award as the nation's top amateur baseball player in 2006, is just the fourth National Leaguer to win the Cy Young in consecutive seasons. Sandy Koufax won it in 1965 and 1966 and both Randy Johnson (1999-2002) and Greg Maddux (1992-95) won four straight.

In the AL, Pedro Martinez, Jim Palmer, Denny McLain and Rogers Clemens have each won two straight, with Clemens having won two in a row on two separate occasions.

The Cy Young Award is the biggest single-season honor ever given to a former Husky in one of the big three professional sports.

More to come later today.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder