Seven Runners Named to Pac-10 All-Academic Teams

Nov. 19, 2009

Walnut Creek, Calif. Seven Oregon State cross country runners were named to the 2009 Pac-10 All-Academic Teams, announced Thursday by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott.


Junior Krista Stangel (Enterprise, Ore.), a Human Development and Family Sciences major, led the way with first team honors, her second top team selection. Junior Hannah Soza-Hodgkinson (Forest Ranch, Calif.) was named to the second team, earning her second academic nod. Soza-Hodgkinson is a exercise and sports science major.


Rounding out conference academic selections are senior Jenny O’Connor (Newfane, N.Y.), juniors Abby Chesimet (Astoria, Ore.) and Jennifer Macias (Hermiston, Ore.), sophomore Cassandra Schumacher (Sweet Home, Ore.) and redshirt freshman Natosha Buruse (Ridgefield, Wash.).


To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an everyday champion.  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network