Babcock, Swarthout Lead Cross Country Academic Selections

Nov. 20, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Sophomore Christine Babcock and junior Jordan Swarthout highlighted a group of 15 Husky cross country athletes named to the Pac-10 All-Academic Team today by Commissioner Larry Scott. Babcock and Swarthout both garnered First Team acclaim.

To be eligible for Pac-10 All-Academic honors, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic year at their current institution, have a minimum 3.0 grade-point-average and be a starter or significant contributor. The conference staff then selects a 10-member first team and second team plus honorable mentions.

Swarthout, an Olympia, Wash. native and Capital High grad, was named to the First Team for the second-straight year. With a 3.95 grade point average in international studies, Swarthout has the second-highest GPA of any men's honoree. He will be one of the seven Husky men toeing the line in Terre Haute, Indiana this coming Monday in the NCAA Championships.

Two of Swarthout's teammates also expected to compete on Monday were honored. Senior Jake Schmitt and redshirt freshman Joey Bywater were named honorable mentions.

The women had a total of 12 selections, with Babcock picking up First Team honors in her first year eligible for the award. Babcock (Irvine, Calif.) was fifth at the Pac-10 Cross Country Championships as well, making her the only woman on the First Team that also placed in the Top-10 at the conference championships. She boasts a 3.89 grade point average in pre-health sciences.

Also earning her first Pac-10 honor was redshirt freshman Allison Linnell (Colts Neck, N.J.), who was named to the Second Team with a 3.84 GPA in aquatic and fishery sciences.

Babcock and Linnell will be among those Huskies seeking an NCAA Championship title defense on Monday. Several other Huskies expected to run in Terre Haute were also named honorable mentions, including senior Katie Follett, junior Kailey Campbell, sophomore Kendra Schaaf, and redshirt freshman Kayla Evans.

Still more Husky women earning honorable mention included juniors Mo Huber, Kenna Patrick and Bailey Schutte, and redshirt freshmen Nicole Aurigemma, Emilie Fruland, and Courtney Lightfoot.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder