Matt Giles To Play Western Refining All American Tournament

Nov. 20, 2009

USC junior Matt Giles, a two-time All-American, will compete next week at the 2009 Western Refining All American Tournament in El Paso, Texas.

The annual event, hosted by the Sun Bowl Association, invites all returning All Americans from the previous year. It is slated for 36 holes on Monday and a final 18 on Tuesday (Nov. 23-24) at the par-71, 6,837-yard El Paso C.C. Action begins at 8 a.m. both days.

To follow the event live, go to

The field includes 32 All-Americans from last season, making it the largest field in the 35-year existence of the event. In 2005, 31 players competed in the Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic.

Eight players will represent both the Pac-10 Conference and the Southeastern Conference to lead the way. Other conferences with multiple participants are the Big Ten Conference (four), Big 12 Conference (three), the West Coast Conference (two) and the Mountain West Conference (two).

'We have another strong field,' said Bob Kimble, tournament director. 'We could not be more excited, this is a quality collection of the top amateur golfers in the world.'

Last season, the Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic ranked as the No. 1 tournament in the country for the fifth consecutive season, according to the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

Throughout the years, many Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic competitors have gone on to pursue successful careers in the Professional Golfers' Association of America and on the PGA Tour. Some of the past champions include Ricky Barnes (2000), Notah Begay (1994), David Duval (1991), Matt Kuchar (1999), Davis Love III (1984), Chris Nallen (2003), Jerry Pate (1974), Nicholas Thompson (2004) and Tiger Woods (1995).

Alumni of the Golf Classic have gone on to earn more than $1 billion on the PGA Tour. In all, 133 colleges and universities have participated in the tournament, raising more than $640,000 in scholarship money for the participating institutions.

Each university is awarded a $1,000 scholarship if a golfer from that school competes in the tournament.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder