Smit and Webb Leading the Field in Long Beach

Nov. 20, 2009

Results for Day One | Day Two

LONG BEACH, Calif.--Julia Smit and Betsy Webb both won individual events on Friday evening, leading the field at the Toshiba Cup. Smit had her second “A” standard time, posting the best 400 IM time of the meet, at 4:03.31, three seconds short of her school-record, while Webb won her second sprint in two days.

Smit also anchored the winning 800 free relay team as well, blowing away the meet-record by 12 seconds, as she along with Kelsey Ditto, Kate Dwelley and Sam Woodward posted a “B” standard time of 7:08.70, beating USC's 1993 record of 7:20.87. So far, Smit has now been a part of two winning relays and won both individual medleys.

Webb took the title in the 100 backstroke with a “B” standard time of 53.06. Webb, Kerry Kraemer, Elaine Breeden and Woodward won the 200 medley with a “B” standard time of 1:40.05. Webb has been a part of three winning relays over two days.

In addition, Woodward was second to Olympian Dana Vollmer in the 100 fly (52.65) with a time of 53.12, well under the 'A' standard time of 59.99 and Dwelley was three-tenths of a second behind Vollmer in the 200 (1:45.02) with a time of 1:45.32

The meet continues through Saturday.

In results late Thursday, the women swept through all five events with Julia Smit posting an “A” standard in her signature event, the 200 IM, and Kelsey Ditto setting a meet record in the 500.

Smit's time of 1:58.34, was three-tenths of a second in front of teammate Liz Smith (1:58.63), while Ditto and Dwelley led the field in the 500, with Ditto defeating her teammate by three seconds, 4:41.30 to 4:44.49. Ditto's mark of 4:41.30 broke UCLA's Natalie Norberg's 18-year old record of 4:44.27 in 1991.

Betsy Webb won the 50 free, ahead of teammate Sam Woodward with a time of 22.37, as Woodward's time of 22.73 was second. Both were “B” standard times.

In the 200 relay, Dwelley, Betsy Webb, Sam Woodward and Smit combined for a time of 1:29.22, two seconds ahead of Cal's relay team. Webb, Smith, Elaine Breeden and Dwelley also won the 400 medley relay with a time of 3:38.06. Both were “B” standard times.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder