Four Bears Earn All-Pac-10 Status

Nov. 23, 2009

BERKELEY - With Alex Morgan leading the way with placement on the first team, four California women's soccer student-athletes were recognized by the Pac-10 Conference. Morgan was named to the first eam for her second time as an All-Pac-10 honoree. Senior Katie Oakes made the second team. Sophomore midfielder Katrin Omarsdottir and senior defender Brianna Bak were honorable mentions.

At the close of the 2009 season, Morgan paced the Bears 14 goals. Thanks to her scores this season, Morgan has 31 career goals, and is now tied for fourth place all-time with Erika Hinton for career goals. With 36 points accumulated this year, she now stands in fifth place with 41 career points, just fourth points shy of tying for third.

Oakes, a co-captain this year with Bak, started 19 of the 19 games in which she played. Oakes scored thrice in 2009 - in the 4-2 win over Texas, off a penalty kick en route to a 4-1 win against Saint Mary's and converting another key penalty kick in the 3-2 overtime victory against Arizona State. Oakes, a key member of Cal's midfield, also had two assists and was 2-2 on penalty kicks.

Omarsdottir was third on the squad with five goals and two assists. An Icelandic national team member, Omarsdottir missed the first two games of the season to play in the European Championships. Omarsdottir, who was third on the team with two gamewinners, led the Bears to wins over Portland State and Oregon State. Starting 17 of her 17 games played, Omarsdottir racked up 12 points.

Bak is a stalwart defender on Cal's backline as well as co-captain with Oakes. Bak scored her lone goal of the season in the 22nd minute against Texas, jumpstarting the Bear offense to a 4-2 victory.

The Bears finished the season at an 11-9-1 clip for the program's sixth-consecutive winning record and the 23nd in school history. Cal went 4-5-0 in the Pac-10 to finish tied for sixth in the competitive conference. With an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament, this year's selection marked Cal's 17th playoff bid in program history, the 11th in the last 12 years and the sixth straight. Thanks to a 2-1 overtime win over Auburn in the opening round, the Bears advanced to the second round, in which they lost, 3-0, to host and No. 1-seeded Florida State.

All-Pac-10 Awards
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Kelley O'Hara, Sr., Forward, StanfordNEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Mariah Nogueira, MF, StanfordCOACH OF THE YEAR: Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford

Name Pos. Year SchoolKelley O'Hara F Sr. StanfordLauren Cheney F Sr. UCLAAlex Morgan F Jr. CaliforniaCarly Dobratz MF Sr. Washington StateRachael Axon MF Sr. Oregon StateMariah Nogueira MF Fr. StanfordAli Riley D Sr. StanfordLiz Harkin D Sr. Arizona StateRachel Quon D Fr. StanfordChristen Press F Jr. StanfordKristin Olsen GK Sr. USC

Name Pos. Year SchoolSydney Leroux F So. UCLAKiersten Dallstream F Sr. Washington StateVeronica Perez F Sr. WashingtonAlyssa Dávila MF Jr. USCKatie Oakes MF Sr. CaliforniaKate Deines MF So. WashingtonLauren Wilmoth D Sr. UCLAAlina Garciamendez D Fr. StanfordLauren Barnes D Jr. UCLALindsay Taylor F So. StanfordMeghan Berlingo GK Jr. Washington State

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree***four-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION: Renae Cuellar (ARIZ, So., F); Kristina Larsen (UCLA, Sr., F), Jen Stoltenberg (ORE, Jr., F), Katrin Omarsdottir (Cal, So., MF), Camille Levin (STAN, So., MF), Alexandra Elston (ASU, Jr., MF), Alicia Jenkins (STAN, Sr., D), Meagan Holmes (USC, R Sr., D), Dea Cook (UCLA, Sr., D), Brianna Bak (CAL, Sr., D), Ashley Seal (OSU, So., D/MF)

Name Pos. SchoolMariah Nogueira MF StanfordRachel Quon D StanfordChelsea Cline MF UCLASamantha Johnson F USCCourtney Verloo F StanfordZakiya Bywaters MF UCLAMariah Cameron D Washington StateAlina Garciamendez D StanfordChelsea Buckland F Oregon StateScout Libke MF OregonMel Johnston MF Washington State

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder