Gerhart Named Finalist for Doak Walker Award

Nov. 23, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford's Toby Gerhart is one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award which is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

Alabama's Mark Ingram and Clemson's C.J. Spiller join Gerhart as the finalists for this prestigious award.

The winner of the award will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 10 as part of The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show, which will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's Boardwalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. and televised live nationally on ESPN beginning at 4:00 p.m. PT.

The winners of the Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive lineman), Biletnikoff Award (best receiver), Lou Groza Award (best kick), Ray Guy Award (best punter), Maxwell Award (best all-around player), Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback), Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) and Outland Trophy (best interior lineman) will also be announced on the awards show.

Gerhart continues to lead the Pac-10 and is ranked third nationally in rushing, averaging 139.2 yards per game. He has gone over the 100-yard mark in nine of Stanford's 11 games this season, including each of the last five contests.

Gerhart has rushed for 200 yards twice this season, including a 200-yard effort vs. No. 24 Washington and a school-record 223-yard game vs. No. 7 Oregon.

The senior from Norco, Calif. has rushed for a single-season record 23 touchdowns this season and his 39 career touchdowns rank second on Stanford's all-time career list, one behind leader Darrin Nelson, who tallied 40 TDs during his illustrious career. Last Saturday against Cal, Gerhart tied a single-game school record by rushing for four touchdowns.

He currently ranks second in the nation this week in scoring, averaging 12.91 points a game.

The Doak Walker Award, in its 20th year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder