Nine Cardinal Volleyball Players Selected To Pac-10 All-Academic Teams

Nov. 23, 2009

Complete List Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Led by first-team selection Joanna Evans, nine Cardinal women's volleyball players were honored today when Commissioner Larry Scott announced the annual Pac-10 All-Academic teams. Stanford led the conference with four honorees on the first and second teams.

Evans, a native of Piedmont, Calif., was the lone Cardinal named to the first-team. This marks the second honors for the senior, who garnered second-team accolades in 2008.

Senior Janet Okogbaa was named to the second-team for the second straight season. She is joined on the second team by junior Cassidy Lichtman and redshirt sophomore Stephanie Browne. Lichtman earns her second career honors as she was named to the honorable mention list last season, while Browne collects her first accolades.

Five additional players, including juniors Gabi Ailes and Alix Klineman, pick up honorable mention honors. Ailes and Klineman were honored for the second time in their careers, while redshirt senior Alex Fisher, sophomore Katherine Sebastian and redshirt freshman Jessica Walker were all recognized for the first time in their careers.

To be eligible for the selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network