Volleyball Receives Second Most Pac-10 All-Academic Nods

Nov. 23, 2009

Walnut Creek, Calif. – The Oregon State volleyball team placed six on the Pac-10 All-Academic teams, tied for second most in the conference, announced Monday by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott.


Senior Bree Knitter (Fallbrook, Calif.) and junior Jill Sawatzky (St. Andrews, Manitoba) both earned first team honors. Knitter, a Sociology and Spanish major, is a three-time selection, earning second team accolades her first two times. Sawatzky, a Business Administration major, is a two-time first team honoree.


Rounding out the academic selections for the Beavers are seniors Camilla Ah-Hoy (Laie, Hawai’i) and Lexie Rathgeber (White Rock, British Columbia), junior Kiersten Sambrailo (Watsonville, Calif.) and sophomore Betsy Devich (Kirkland, Wash.). Both Ah-Hoy and Rathgeber are three-time honorees, while this is the first award for Sambrailo and Devich.


To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.


Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund.  For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.  You can make an everyday champion.  Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder