Cardinal Men Sweep Pac-10 Cross Country Honors

Dec. 2, 2009

  • Pac-10 Release Get Acrobat Reader

    Stanford, Calif. - Stanford men's cross country swept the Pac-10 awards when sophomore Chris Derrick was named the Athlete of the Year, while redshirt freshman Miles Unterreiner was named Newcomer of the Year. In addition, Jason Dunn was named Men's Coach of the Year.

    Derrick, a sophomore from Naperville, Ill., captured his first Pac-10 title when he crossed the finish line in a championships meet record time of 22:35 and became the sixth Stanford runner to win the individual title. He helped the Cardinal win its 11th Pac-10 team title, and 10th in 14 years. Stanford took top team honors at the NCAA West Regional behind Derrick's first-place performance (30:38). Derrick then capped the collegiate season with a third-place finish (29:14) at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America honors.

    Unterreiner, from Gig Harbor, Wash., was named the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. He was the top-placing freshman at the Pac-10 Championships with an 11th-place showing (23:27) to help the Cardinal score 28 points in capturing the team title. At the NCAA West Regional, Unterreiner placed 13th (31:02) to help the Cardinal bring home the team trophy. Unterreiner is the third Stanford runner to earn the award.

    Dunn was honored as the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year for first time in his career. Dunn guided Stanford to the school's 11th Pac-10 title and is the fifth different Cardinal coach to earn the honor, joining Brooks Johnson (1985), Vin Lananna (1996-97, 2000-02), Andrew Gerard (2003-04) and Peter Tegen (2005).

    The women's honors were won by Kendra Schaaf of Washington, who was named Athlete of the Year, Jordan Hasay of Oregon who was named Newcomer of the Year and Greg Metcalf of Washington who was named Coach of the Year.

    In addition, Derrick, Elliott Heath, Jacob Riley and Justin-Marpole Bird were named First Team All-Pac-10 for the men, while Unterreiner and Brendan Gregg were named to the second team.

    Alexandra Gits and Stepanie Marcy were name All-Pac-10 Second Team for the women.

    The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    6:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder