Cougars Place 18 on Pac-10 All-Academic Teams

Dec. 2, 2009

PULLMAN, Wash. - The Washington State University football team placed five student-athletes on the first team and 18 overall on the 2009 Pacific-10 Conference All-Academic Teams, the conference announced Wednesday.

Offensive linemen Micah Hannam and Chris Prummer, defensive lineman Kevin Kooyman and safeties Jay Matthews and Chima Nwachukwu were named to the first team. Offensive linemen Steven Ayers and Joe Eppele, along with wide receiver Jared Karstetter, linebacker Joshua Garrett and safety Kyle McCartney were each named to the second team.

Earning All-Academic honorable mention accolades were center Kenny Alfred, wide receiver Daniel Blackledge, safeties Eric Block and LeAndre Daniels, guard Brian Danaher, linebacker Hallston Higgins and tight ends Andrei Lintz and Skylar Stormo.

Hannam, a repeat selection on the first team, carries a 3.59 GPA in civil engineering, while Nwachukwu, a political science major with a 3.79 GPA, also was a first-team pick for the second-straight season. Prummer was named to the team for the first time, boosted by a 3.88 GPA in zoology. Kooyman and Matthews were also named to the first team for the first time. Kooyman carries a 3.16 GPA in management and operations while Matthews has a 3.68 GPA, though he has not declared a major.

Ayers, an honorable mention pick last season, moved up to the second team and has a 3.44 GPA in social studies. Eppele was named to the second team for the third-consecutive season and is a psychology major with a 3.42 GPA. Garrett and McCartney are making their first appearance on the All-Academic Team, with 3.30 and 3.87 GPA's, respectively. Each has yet to declare a major.

Washington State's 18 All-Academic selections is tied with Stanford for the most in the conference.
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network