Five Pac-10 Women's Soccer Players Named M.A.C. Hermann Award Semifinalists

Dec. 2, 2009

  • College Cup Release

    WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- STANFORD'S Kelley O'Hara and Christen Press, UCLA's Sydney Leroux and Lauren Cheney and USC's Kristin Olsen were all named M.A.C. Hermann Award Semifinalists, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced Wednesday. 

    O'Hara, a senior forward for the Cardinal, set a school and Pac-10 record for goals in a season (25) and points (63).  She also ranks second in the nation in points per game with 2.63.  Like O'Hara, teammate Christen Press, a junior forward for Stanford, has put together an impressive season of her own.  Press has netted 20 goals and added a school record 15 assists. 

    A duo of UCLA standouts are also on the semifinalist list, led by senior forward Lauren Cheney.  Cheney, a 2008 Olympic gold medalist, has tallied 17 goals and 10 assists for the Bruins, en route to setting the school career scoring record with 171 total points.  Teammate Leroux, a sophomore forward, has led the team in scoring this season, netting 23 goals, with eight of those coming in the NCAA Tournament, a new Bruins' tournament record.  

    Cheney and Leroux will face O'Hara and Press in the semifinals of the College Cup on Friday, Dec. 4 at 2:30 p.m. PT, as UCLA and Stanford face off for the second time this season.  The Cardinal won the first go-around, 2-0 on October 18. The winner advances to the national championship game on Sunday, Dec. 6 at 10 a.m. PT. 

    USC senior goalkeeper Kristin Olsen rounds out the Pac-10 nominees. Olsen, the only goalkeeper on the list of semifinalists, posted nine shutouts for the Trojans this season and an 11-5-3 record overall.  Olsen led the Conference with 5.32 saves per game and set USC career records with 42 wins and 27 shutouts.  

    The 15 semifinalists will be cut down to three on December 11, 2009, with the award being voted on by Division I college coaches with current membership in the NSCAA.  The winner will be announced at a dinner and awards ceremony on Friday, January 8, 2010 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.  

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    9:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder