Three Men's Soccer Players Named as Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Dec. 2, 2009


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- UCLA senior forward Kyle Nakazawa, OREGON STATE sophomore forward Danny Mwanga and STANFORD junior midfielder Bobby Warshaw were among the 15 men’s soccer players named to the 2009 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Semifinalist Watch List, which was announced today by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. 

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipient of the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy is selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the NSCAA. The winner of the award will be announced at a news conference on Jan. 8, 2010, in St. Louis, Mo.

A native of Palos Verdes, Calif., Nakazawa has started in all 19 games for the Bruins. Heading into the NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals, he has scored 12 goals, more than double the next best on the team, and has tallied seven assists. A first-team All-Pac-10 selection, he finished the regular season second in goals scored and points (28) and fourth in assists (6) in the Conference.

The 2009 Pac-10 Men’s Soccer Player of the Year, Mwanga started all 18 games for the Beavers. Mwanga, who hails from Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Conga, finished the 2009 campaign as the Pac-10 leader in goals scored (14), points (30), points per game (1.67), goals per game (0.78) and game-winning goals (5). His marks in goals per game and points per game rank third and 12th in the NCAA, respectively. 

An All-Pac-10 first-team selection, Warshaw, who is from Mechanicsburg, Pa., started all 20 games for the Cardinal. He scored six goals and recorded an assist for 13 points, which led Stanford’s balanced offensive attack despite playing a more defensive role leading Stanford in scoring in each of the past three seasons. In addition, he ranked third in the Conference in game-winning goals (4). 

No. 6 UCLA will look advance to the program’s 13th all-time NCAA College Cup on Saturday, Dec. 5, 2009 when it plays No. 3 Wake Forest at 7:00 p.m ET in Winston-Salem, N.C. The Bruins defeated Sacramento State, 2-1, in the second round, then came-from-behind to beat UC Santa Barbara, 2-1, in the third round.


Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder