Kristin Olsen Named Hermann Trophy Semifinalist

Dec. 3, 2009

USC senior goalkeeper Kristin Olsen has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the nation's top honor for collegiate women's soccer, the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy. Olsen was named to the Watch List for the award early in the season, and her powerful senior season has earned her a spot as the only goalkeeper on the list of 2009 semifinalists, announced Dec. 2 by the Missouri Athletic Club.

This is the first time that Olsen has been selected a semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy, having been on the Watch List in 2008 but missing out on a spot into the next round of 15 semifinalists that year. Olsen's 2008 teammate Amy Rodriguez was the last Trojan to be named a semifinalist with her selection in 2008. As the only goalkeeper in the 2009 semifinalist group, Olsen has clearly made her mark on the collegiate soccer scene in closing out her USC career with another strong season for the Women of Troy.

As USC made its fifth straight NCAA Tournament appearance this year, Olsen was key in the Trojans' march to the postseason once again. In helping USC to a 12-6-3 overall record in 2009, Olsen wound down her illustrious career as a Trojan as the all-time program leader in wins (42) and shutouts (27), and ranks No. 2 all-time in career saves (253).

The 2007 College Cup Most Outstanding Defensive Player, All-American, Honda Award finalist and All-Pac-10 Second Team pick and a 2008 Hermann Trophy Watch List member, Olsen grabbed back-to-back Pac-10 Player of the Week accolades on the way into this year's All-Pac-10 First Team selection. Through the 2009 regular season, Olsen led the league in saves (5.32 spg, .835 pct) and shutouts (8) and set a new career high in saves this season with 13 in a single match.

The 15 Hermann Trophy semifinalists will be cut down to three on December 11, 2009, with the award being voted on by Division I college coaches with current membership in the NSCAA. The winner will be announced at a dinner and awards ceremony on Friday, January 8, 2010 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo.

2009 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy Semifinalists

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder