Toby Gerhart Named to American Football Coaches Association All-America Team

Dec. 3, 2009

STANFORD, Calif. - Senior running back Toby Gerhart, who rushed for a Stanford single-season record 1,736 yards and 26 touchdowns this season, has been named to the American Football Coaches Association All-America Team which was announced Thursday morning.

Gerhart is joined in the backfield by Alabama running back Mark Ingram.

The AFCA has selected an All-America team since 1945 and currently selects teams in all five of its divisions.

Gerhart ranks second in the nation in rushing, averaging 144.7 yards per game, and he leads the nation in scoring (13.33) and touchdowns (26). He has rushed for 100 or more yards in 10 of Stanford's 12 games this season, including three games in which he rushed for 200 yards or more.

Gerhart was at his best down the stretch, as he averaged 185.5 yards a game and scored 13 touchdowns over Stanford's last four contests against No. 7 Oregon (223), No. 11 USC (178), California (136) and Notre Dame (205). The Cardinal posted a 3-1 record in those games to finish the regular season with an 8-4 overall record, its most wins in a single-season since the 2001 campaign.

One of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award which honors the best running back in the nation, Gerhart will take part in the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show next Thursday night in Orlando, Fla. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney's BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort.

The show will feature the live presentation of nine player awards in addition to the student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

2009 AFCA Coaches' All-America Team

OffenseWR Golden Tate (Notre Dame)WR Mardy Gilyard (Cincinnati)TE Dennis Pitta (BYU)OL Mike Johnson (Alabama)OL Russell Okung (Oklahoma)C Chris Hall (Texas)OL Trent Williams (Oklahoma)OL Mike Iupati (Idaho)QB Colt McCoy (Texas)RB Mark Ingram (Alabama)RB Toby Gerhart (Stanford)

DefenseDL Ndamukong Suh (Nebraska)DL Jerry Hughes (TCU)DL Jared Odrick (Penn State)DL Derrick Morgan (Georgia Tech)DL Brian Price (UCLA)LB Rolando McClain (Alabama)LB Greg Jones (Michigan State)DB Eric Berry* (Tennessee)DB Joe Haden (Florida)DB Javier Arenas (Alabama)DB Earl Thomas (Texas)

SpecialistsP Drew Butler (Georgia)PK Kai Forbath (UCLA)AP C.J. Spiller (Clemson)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder