Arizona Sweeps Texas Invite

Dec. 6, 2009

Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

AUSTIN – The Arizona men’s and women’s swimming team swept the Texas Hall of Fame Swimming and Diving Invitational Saturday.   The women recorded a score of 1.084.5 while the men were victorious 1,125.5.


The third day was highlighted by Jean Basson who won the 1650 free event with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 14:50.32. 


Another standout for UA was Ana Agy who won the 200 backstroke with an NCAA consideration time of 1:54.43.  Teammate Hannah Ross finished just behind Agy with a second place time of 1:54.68.


Cory Chitwood got back into his winning ways, taking the men’s 200 back with a “B” cut time of 1:41.65.  Chitwood was followed by Jake Tapp with a 1:43.63.


Jordan Smith won the men’s 100 free, out-touching Texas’ Jimmy Feigen with a time of 43.27. On Thursday, Smith also took home the 50 free title.


UA’s depth was on display in the 200 breast as Clark Burckle won with a time of 1:55.54.  Burckle was followed up by teammates Jack Brown, Marcus Titus and Kevin Munsch who finished second, third and fourth, respectively.


Wildcat flyer extraordinaire A.J. Tipton won the men’s 200 fly event with an NCAA cut time of 1:43.00.


To close the invitational, Arizona won both 400 free relay’s with the women’s foursome of Leone Vorster, Justine Schluntz, Andrea Boritzke and Monica Drake winning in a time of 3:17.07.  The men’s team of Rob Iddiols, Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or, Smith and Cameron Owen took home first place as well with a time of 2:53.41.


Arizona will resume its dual meet schedule when the women host NAU and Oregon State on January 8.


Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder