MAACO Bowl Las Vegas Invites Mike Riley's Crew

Dec. 6, 2009

Corvallis, Ore. -

Oregon State University Director of Athletics Bob De Carolis and Head Football Coach Mike Riley have accepted a formal invitation to play in the 18th annual MAACO Bowl Las Vegas Tues., Dec. 22 at 5 p.m.  The game will be televised by ESPN from Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas. 


The No. 16 (AP)/No. 20 (USA Today) Beavers, 8-4 overall for the season and tied for second in the Pac-10 Conference at 6-3, will play the No. 15/14 Brigham Young University Cougars of the Mountain West Conference.  BYU finished second in the MWC with an overall record of 10-2 and 7-1 within league play. 


The Beavers and Cougars will meet for the first time ever in a bowl game and for the ninth time overall.  OSU has won five previous meetings, including a 10-7 win for the Beavers in Provo, Utah Nov. 15, 1986 in the last meeting.  In that ’86 game, BYU head coach Bronco Mendenhall was the starting safety for the Beavers and had four tackles,  Mendenhall later served as a graduate assistant coach at OSU in 1989 and ’90, and returned to the Beaver sideline as  the defensive line coach in 1995 and defensive coordinator in ‘96 . 


“This will be one of the more intriguing bowl games of this year,” Riley said.   “There are many connections between Oregon State and BYU, of course Coach Mendenhall played and coached for the Beavers, but there are other ties to both programs as well. This will be a great showcase for two of the best quarterbacks in the country on a national stage in Max Hall (BYU) and Sean Canfield (OSU).  I’m very excited about playing BYU and it will be a tremendous challenge for our team.”


The Beavers are 8-4 overall in NCAA sanctioned bowl games and will arrive in Las Vegas with the nation’s second-longest active win streak in bowls at five games.  This will be an OSU record fourth consecutive bowl trip and Coach Riley is undefeated all time in bowl games – 5-0 at OSU and 3-0 as the offensive coordinator at USC.


The Beavers’ current bowl win streak started with a 55-14 victory over New Mexico at the 2003 Las Vegas Bowl.  Junior running back and Las Vegas native Steven Jackson tied a bowl record with five touchdowns, four rushing, before announcing at the conclusion of the game that he was forgoing his senior season and entering the NFL Draft. 


MAACO Bowl Las Vegas tickets are available now to 2009 Beaver season ticket holders by calling 1-800-GOBEAVS or online at -- deadline to receive priority status is Dec. 9.  Ticket orders for all Beaver fans start Mon., Dec. 7 at 8:30 a.m.   MAACO Bowl Las Vegas tickets are $50 each and each order will have a $35 handling charge.  Tickets will be shipped by Dec. 15 via UPS Next Day Air.  All ticket orders will be allocated using Beaver Athletic Student Fund (BASF) order priority.  


OSU Bowl Game Results

2008 Sun Bowl – OSU 3, Pittsburgh 0

2007 Emerald Bowl – OSU 21, Maryland 14

2006 Sun Bowl – OSU 39, Missouri 38

2004 Insight Bowl – OSU 38, Notre Dame 21

2003 Las Vegas Bowl – OSU 55, New Mexico 14

2002 Insight Bowl – Pittsburgh 38, OSU 13

2001 Fiesta Bowl – OSU 41, Notre Dame 9

1999 Oahu Bowl – Hawai’i 23, OSU 17

1965 Rose Bowl – Michigan 34, OSU 7

1962 Liberty Bowl – OSU 6, Villanova 0

1957 Rose Bowl – Iowa 35, OSU 19

1942 Rose Bowl – OSU 20, Duke 16

1949 Pineapple Bowl – OSU 47, Hawai’i 27*

1940 Pineapple Bowl – OSU 39, Hawai’i 6*

*not NCAA sanctioned





Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder